restaurant

Acte II

Restaurant Acte II (Paris)

© Crafted Paris

  • Date
  • share

Given how light the fare served at rooftop bars usually is, the night owls you typically come across really do tend to eat like birds. But that was before the culinary virtuoso Masahide Ikuta (ex-Les Enfants du Marché) brought his talents to the Parisian skyline, which you can now embrace at Acte II with full bellies and stars in your eyes. There’s a beachy playlist in the background, two hotbeds of embers (a barbecue and a Josper charcoal oven), which get topped with a handful of carefully chosen ingredients. All of the following graced our table the night we went: a striking line-caught jack mackerel ceviche, with a spellbinding leche de tigre, smoked burrata, pink Corsican grapefruit and sambal (a spicy Southeast Asian chili paste); followed by an epic half roasted wild duck with teriyaki sauce, a grilled hibiscus and heirloom beetroot reduction – in the spirit of the fiery cuisine of legendary BBQ restaurant Etxebarri where the chef used to work; before a flying carpet of matcha tiramisu with matcha ice cream, a matcha cookie and bitter amaretto. On Sundays, Masahide trades in his elegant dishes for a series of small snacks: burrata from Taka & Vermo, smoked sardines killed ikejime style, charcuterie from Terroirs d’Avenir… In short, a feast for the senses above the city! // Renaud Fuego 

FEELING THIRSTY? Wines to get excited about: an extra-dry Champagne from Jacques Lassaigne (€16 a glass), an Hérault red blend from Jeff Coutelou (€44 a bottle), a Loire Chenin from Les Vignes de Babass, a Burgundy Pinot noir from Fanny Sabre (€59 each)… 
PRICE: Set menu €140 (8 courses), appetizers €22-28, mains €32-60, desserts €18, small plates €15-35 (Sunday).

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Acte II

Restaurant Acte II (Paris)

© Crafted Paris

  • Date
  • partager

Vu la popote ras des pâquerettes qu’on picore sur les rooftops, les oiseaux de nuit qu’on y croise semblent plus papillons que papilles geek. Mais ça, c’était avant que le virtuose Masahide Ikuta (ex-Les Enfants du Marché) n’éclabousse de son talent le ciel parisien, qu’on embrasse à l’Acte II à pleine bouche et des étoiles dans les yeux. Playlist plagiste en fond, deux foyers de braises hystérisées (barbeuc et Josper) saisissent dans le feu de l’action une flopée de produits savamment castés. Sur notre table, ce soir-là : un cinglant ceviche de chinchard de ligne, envoûté par un leche de tigre lèche-babines au cœur de burrata fumée, pamplemousse rose de Corse et sambal (condiment pimenté d’Asie du Sud-Est) ; suivi d’un épique demi-canard sauvage rôti, sauce teriyaki dit mieux, réduction d’hibiscus et betterave crapaudine grillée – dans l’esprit du feu chipé au mythique resto grilladiste Etxebarri où officia le chef ; avant un tapis volant de tiramisu matché au matcha, avec glace matcha, biscuit matcha et amaretto tendu vers l’amer. Bref, une bamboche des sens au sommet ! // Renaud Fuego

POUR LA SOIF ? Les jajas aussi font la java : champ’ extra-brut signé Jacques Lassaigne (16 € le verre), assemblage rouge héraultais de Jeff Coutelou (44 € la bouteille), chenin ligérien des Vignes de Babass, pinot-noir bourguignon par Fanny Sabre (59 € chacun)…

LES PRIX : menu 140 € (8 temps), entrées 22-28 €, plats 32-60 €, desserts 18 €.

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.