restaurant

Auberge de Poil

Restaurant Auberge de Poil (Poil)

© Auberge de Poil

  • Date
  • share

Innkeeper Hélène Lebonnois (a former cultural attaché at the Institut Français in Dresden) and chef Matthieu Caziot (who used to work at Bean & Beluga in the same city) are now gallivanting about in a former communal inn in the south of the Morvan, transformed into a colorful bed & breakfast and a delightfully unhinged restaurant. At the latter, you’ll find an adventurous menu composed around local and organic ingredients, like the night we went, seated on the adorable terrace: an alluring naan painted with wild garlic, duck pastrami and pickled blackcurrants; delightful cauliflower beignets with an Époisses cheese emulsion and fig chutney for dipping; and juicy leg of suckling lamb, swimming in a madras curry jus and served with a sunchoke and tarragon purée. What about dessert? There was a ratafia baba, paired with a quince-elderblossom jelly and a pear-saffron sorbet. It’s worth noting that the inn is open during the day for drinks and snacks (homemade terrine, goat’s cheese from a neighboring farm…). // Henri Depecker

FEELING THIRSTY? In addition to the classic local wines served by the glass (like this Pinot noir / Gamaret blend from Aurélien Febvre for €7), the couple, who used to live in Germany, also offer up a selection of wines from the other side of the Rhine River: an orange wine from a certain Dupont de Ligonnès (€40 a bottle), a Berlin-made herb liqueur (€5 for 40 ml)…
PRICE: Set menus €22 (lunch), €32-36 (dinner), kids €12. Brunch €28 (Sunday). 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Auberge de Poil

Restaurant Auberge de Poil (Poil)

© Auberge de Poil

  • Date
  • partager

Pour qui veut caresser la vie dans le sens de Poil, la taulière Hélène Lebonnois (ex-attachée culturelle à l’Institut français de Dresde) et le chef Matthieu Caziot (passé par Bean & Beluga dans la même ville) cabotinent dans une ancienne auberge communale du Sud-Morvan, transformée en maison d’hôte bigarrée et resto gentiment désaxé. Lequel affiche une carte baroudeuse à base de produits locaux et bio, comme ce soir-là, en direct de la terrasse croquignolette : affriolant naan peint à l’ail des ours, avec pastrami de canard et pickles de cassis ; kiffant beignet de chou-fleur trempé dans une émulsion d’époisses et du chutney de figues ; et juteux gigot d’agneau de lait tout rosé, baignant dans son jus fouetté au curry madras et accompagné d’une purée de topinambour à l’estragon. En dessert ? Un baba au ratafia, escorté d’une gelée coing-sureau et d’un sorbet poire-safran. À noter que l’auberge est ouverte en journée pour boire un canon ou grignoter sans forcer (terrine maison, fromage de chèvre de la ferme voisine…). Au poil, forcément. // Henri Depecker

POUR LA SOIF ? Aux côtés des classiques jajas du coin versés au verre (comme cet assemblage pinot noir / gamaret d’Aurélien Febvre à 7 €), le couple, qui a vécu en Allemagne, propose des breuvages d’outre-Rhin : macération d’un certain Dupont de Ligonnès (40 € la bouteille), liqueur d’herbes berlinoise (5 € les 4 cl)…

LES PRIX : menus 22 € (midi), 32-36 € (soir), enfants 12 €. Brunch 28 € (dimanche).

 

Cet été, laissez-vous guider par le Fooding, recevez dans votre boîte mail nos recos personnalisées selon votre destination. Demandez votre guide en un clic !

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.