restaurant

Beng Beng

Restaurant Beng Beng (Paris)

© By Mama Ly

  • Date
  • share

At her new spot, Ly-Hear Lo-Teyssandier gets straight to the point: “We’re a Southeast Asian creperie!” she calls out from the windowed kitchenette of her café Beng Beng, equipped with a pale green facade, Formica barstools and metal trays… What will you find on the menu? Three little gems: Vietnamese bánh xèo, an extra crispy rice flour, coconut milk and turmeric crepe filled with ground pork, shrimp, salad, cucumber, soybeans, mint and basil – which you roll up and dip into quality nuoc-mâm sauce; exquisite flaky Malaysian roti with wheat and ghee (clarified butter), stuffed with nem nuong (Vietnamese pork sausage), pickled carrots and cucumber, plus fresh cilantro and scallions; and jian bing, a Chinese crepe made with mung beans, rice flour and tapioca, pimped out with beaten egg, satay chicken, lettuce and pickled vegetables. And to go with all that, six vegetarian bánh khot (tiny bánh xèo), then an incredible pandan flan. // James Patisson

FEELING THIRSTY? Sweet homemade pandan-coconut syrup water (€3.50), excellent cà phê sua dá (Vietnamese coffee made with sweetened condensed milk, served hot or cold, €5) or BapBap beers (€5).
PRICE: Combos 12€ (crepe + drink) or €15 (with a side or dessert).

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, tools that allow you to find the best takeaway and delivery options for your neighborhood or make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Beng Beng

Restaurant Beng Beng (Paris)

© By Mama Ly

  • Date
  • partager

Pour les yeux ronds comme ses galettes, Ly-Hear Lo-Teyssandier ne fait pas dans la dentelle, pour une fois : « Nous sommes une crêperie d’Asie du Sud-Est ! » envoie-t-elle depuis la kitchenette toute vitrée de sa cantoche Beng Beng – devanture vert d’eau, tabourets en Formica, plateaux en alu… À la carte ? Trois pépites bien tapées : un bánh xèo vietnamien, soit une crêpe de riz ultra-crousti au lait de coco et curcuma, avec porc haché, crevettes, salade, concombre, soja, menthe et basilic – à enrouler et tremper dans un nuoc-mâm de qualité ; un exquis « roti » malais au blé et ghee (beurre clarifié), feuilleté et fourré de nem nuong (saucisse de porc viet), pickles de carotte et concombre, coriandre et cébette ; et un jian bing, une crêpe chinoise à base de haricots mungo, riz et tapioca, pimpée d’œuf battu, de poulet au satay, de salade et de légumes pickelisés. Et avec ça, six bánh khọt (des bánh xèo riquiquis) végé, puis un dégommant flan au pandan. // James Patisson

POUR LA SOIF ? Doux sirop pandan-coco maison (3,50 €), excellent cà phê sua dá (café viet à base de lait concentré sucré, servi chaud ou froid – 5 €) ou bières BapBap (5 €).

LES PRIX : formules 12 € (crêpe + boisson) ou 15 € (avec side ou dessert).

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide papier et numérique des restaurants, chef·fe·s, bars, chambres d’hôte et hôtels de style qui font le « goût de l’époque », un palmarès annuel des nouvelles adresses partout en France, un service répertoriant le meilleur du take-away et de la livraison, un outil de réservation de super bistrots, des événements gastronomiques, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus… Tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.