restaurant

Club Sandwich

Restaurant Club Sandwich (Biarritz)

© Thomas Aulagner

  • Date
  • share

Sandwich bread is on the rise in Biarritz! In the adorable kitchen of this retro-bistro known as Club Sandwich (barstools, timeworn school chairs, an old radio), self-taught chef Elsa Rampazzo, who used to work at Etxola Bibi, puts together carefully sourced eats (bread from the Ona Garia bakery, organic Pays Landais vegetables…). Just take this marvelous bun topped with herb and lime cream cheese, smoked Banka trout and heaps of veggies (spicy red cabbage, carrots, cucumbers and red onion) as an example! Also available on the menu is the house’s eponymous club sandwich (egg / baked ham / emmental cheese / lettuce), along with a gouda and cheddar grilled cheese, or a salad that combines tomatoes, quinoa, lamb’s lettuce, arugula, burratina and pesto, which you can pair with a cone of fries, or even a strawberry, basil, mint and lime dessert. // Gérard Roubeix  

FEELING THIRSTY? A wine selection that was still being put together while we were there, including a Roussillon red from Le Bout du Monde (€5 a glass), a white from the same region by La Cave Apicole (€28 a bottle), a Beaujolais Chardonnay from the Domaine des Grottes (€38), along with a dry cider from Kupela (€6 a bottles) or a Gross IPA brewed in Saint-Sébastien (€4.50 for 330 ml). 
PRICE: Sandwiches €8-12, mains €10-15, fries €3.50, dessert €6. 

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Club Sandwich

Restaurant Club Sandwich (Biarittz)

© Thomas Aulagner

  • Date
  • partager

À Biarritz aussi, l’entrepain a le vent en croûte ! Dans la cuisine lilliputienne de son rétroquet Club Sandwich (tabourets de bar, chaises d’école patinées, vieille radio), l’autodidacte Elsa Rampazzo, passée par Etxola Bibi, ficèle des casse-dalles au sourcing sourcilleux – pain de la boulange Ona Garia, légumes bio Pays Landais… À l’image de ce mierveilleux bun garni de cream cheese aux herbes et citron vert, truite de Banka fumée et combo de crudités compilant chou rouge émincé, carotte, concombre et oignon rouge. Également à l’ardoise, le club sandwich éponyme (œuf / jambon blanc / emmental / salade), ainsi qu’un grilled cheese au gouda et cheddar, une salade mariant tomates, quinoa, mâche, roquette, burratina et pesto, à acoquiner d’un cornet de frites, ou encore un dessert de fraises, basilic, menthe et citron vert. // Gérard Roubeix

POUR LA SOIF ? Une cave encore en chantier lors de notre passage, affichant un rouge roussillonnais signé Le Bout du Monde (5 € le verre), un blanc de la même région par la Cave Apicole (28 € la bouteille), un chardo du Beaujolais du Domaine des Grottes (38 €), mais aussi du cidre brut Kupela (6 € la flacon) ou une IPA Gross brassée à Saint-Sébastien (4,50 € les 33 cl).

LES PRIX : sandwichs 8-12 €, plats 10-15 €, frites 3,50 €, dessert 6 €.

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.