restaurant

Demain

Restaurant Demain (Biarritz)

  • Date
  • share

After stints in the Savoie, New York and then London (at Mourad Mazouz’s Momo), chef Matthias Leuliette finally settled down with his knives in tow in the heart of Biarritz’s Saint-Charles neighborhood. Where did he wind up exactly? At this tiny bistro with loads of style (rough concrete walls, tables with drawers, a Pita chandelier), where he whipped up a perfect menu the night we went: a light omelet soufflé with truffles and horned melon from Maison Balme; a crispy Christian Aguerre Grand Roux corn talo fritter stuffed with Ossau-Iraty cheese and piment d’Espelette; a delicious pork trotter topped with pickled mustard seeds and a jellied jus de cuisson; a small slab of Landes foie gras paired with kumquat and Timut peppercorn; a lovely spider crab tartlet (that was a little too lemony) with katsuobushi shavings; an incredible large French fry stuffed with mussels marinière and paired with oyster leaf; scallop cooked in the shell with buttery wood ear and shiitake mushrooms; a rich veal fillet from the Ferme Kitteria, cooked medium-rare over hay and surrounded by celery (prepared as both a purée and a millefeuille), pickled pear and a reduction; before the improbable finale, an oyster with honey on a seaweed shortbread crust, imprisoned inside a blown sugar shell with orange sorbet. One tiny complaint? The portions were a little on the small side… // Gérard Roubeix

FEELING THIRSTY? A natural wine list concocted by Hubert Lauriot Dit Prévost, the owner of the wine shop Retour Verre le Futur: a Bergerac pet’ nat’ from the Domaine Barouillet (€7 a glass), a Cahors from the Domaine La Calmette (€42 a bottle), a Chablis from AMI (€49)…

PRICE: Tasting menu €58.

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Demain

Restaurant Demain (Biarritz)

  • Date
  • partager

 Après avoir roulé sa bosse en Savoie, à New-York puis Londres (au Momo de Mourad Mazouz), le cuistot Matthias Leuliette a finalement posé ses couteaux dans la cité biarrote, au cœur du quartier Saint-Charles. Son point de chute ? Un bistrot de poche bien gaulé (murs en béton brut, tables à tiroir, lustre Pita), où il conjuguait son menu au presque-parfait ce soir-là : aérienne omelette soufflée truffée à la melano de la Maison Balme ; craquant talo au maïs Grand Roux de Christian Aguerre, fourré d’ossau-iraty et de piment d’Espelette ; savoureuse croquette de pied de cochon coiffée d’un caviar de moutarde et du jus de cuisson gélifié ; mini-foie gras des Landes dopé au kumquat et poivre de Timut ; pimpante tartelette à l’araignée de mer (un peu trop citronnée) et lamelles de katsuobushi ; dinguerie de grosse frite farcie de moules marinière et escortée d’une feuille d’huître ; bijou de saint-jacques « pince à linge » batifolant avec des oreilles-de-Judas et shitakés bien beurrés ; abyssal filet de veau de la Ferme Kitteria, cuit rosé au foin, bien entouré de céleri (purée et mille-feuille), pickles de poire et jus réduit ; avant, en final improbable, une huître au miel sur un sablé aux algues, prisonnière d’une coque de sucre soufflé avec un sorbet orange. Un petit bémol quand même ? Les assiettes sont un peu chichiteuses… // Gérard Roubeix 

POUR LA SOIF ? Une carte des vins naturaliste concoctée par Hubert Lauriot Dit Prévost, taulier de la cave Retour Verre le Futur : pet’ nat’ bergeracois du Domaine Barouillet (7 € le verre), cahors du Domaine La Calmette (42 € la bouteille), chablis d’AMI (49 €)… 

LES PRIX : menu unique 58 €. 

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.