restaurant

District

©Les Bennies

  • Date
  • share

Tucked away in the industrial section of Les 2 Pins, located between a store that sells blinds and a windshield wiper repair shop, French-Californians Marion and Christian Dreyfus (ex-Fou in Pieds Rouges) are showing customers all the tricks they’ve got up their sleeves. In their brand-new District, a former warehouse that’s been given a sober makeover (blonde wood, brushed aluminum, cement stones), the duo prepares lovely bowls, outstanding pancakes and anti-diet smash burgers, as if dinner was no longer a thing. For us, the day we went for lunch: creamy soup mixing seasonal vegetables, smoked herrings and mussels; an incredible grilled cheese piled high with cheese and bacon on two slices of white bread (complete with long strings of cheese); and a layered carrot cake with plenty of icing. Also available à la carte: crispy ramen with toasted noodles; homemade fries topped with crispy pork, avocado and ranch dressing; a chocolate-walnut brownie with a peanut butter mousse… Plenty to kick start your afternoon! // Gérard Roubeix

FEELING THIRSTY? Freshly squeezed orange juice (€4), banana milkshake (€5), smoothies (€7), Dr Pepper (€2.90 for 330 ml), Brewdog IPA (€5 for 330 ml) and even a few organic wines – an Aude Pinot noir from the Domaine Sainte Marie des Crozes at €4 a glass, a Bordeaux rosé from the Domaine Despagne at €19 a bottle)…
PRICE: Breakfast €7 (bagel + espresso + orange juice), mains €7-14, desserts €4-5, brunch €15-20 (one Sunday a month).

 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

District

©Les Bennies

  • Date
  • partager

Planqués dans la ZA des 2 Pins, entre un magasin de stores et un atelier de réparation de pare-brise, les Franco-Californiens Marion et Christian Dreyfus (ex-Fou à Pieds Rouges) démontrent qu’ils en ont sous le capot. Dans leur flambant District, un ancien entrepôt sobrement relooké (bois blond, alu frotté, pierres cimentées), le duo cantine bowls trop chouettes, pancakes de compète et smash burgers anti-diète, comme si le dîner ne devait jamais arriver. Pour nous, ce midi-là : soupe bien crémeuse mixant légumes de saison, hareng fumé et moules ; mortel grilled cheese empilant frometon et bacon entre deux tranches de pain de mie (fils géants compris dans le prix) ; et carrot cake à étages, généreusement glacé. À la carte également : crousti-ramen aux nouilles toastées ; frites maisons toppées de porc crispy, avocat et sauce ranch ; brownie choco-noix et mousse de beurre de cacahuètes… De quoi démarrer l’aprèm au quart de tour. // Gérard Roubeix

POUR LA SOIF ? Une orange pressée (4 €), un milshake banane (5 €), des smoothies (7 €), un Dr Pepper (2,90 € les 33 cl), une IPA Brewdog (5 € les 33 cl) et même quelques vins biotypés – pinot-noir audois du Domaine Sainte Marie des Crozes à 4 € le verre, rosé bordelais du Domaine Despagne à 19 € la quille…

LES PRIX : petit déj’ 7 € (bagel + espresso + jus d’orange), plats 7-14 €, desserts 4-5 €, brunch 15-20 € (un dimanche par mois).

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.