restaurant

Kern

Restaurant Kern (Paris)

© Kern

  • Date
  • share

Where can you grab a bite to eat halfway between Tunis and Krakow? Just a stone’s throw from the Grande Synagogue de Paris, Delphine Laguerre (ex-Sando Club and Cevicheria) and Mona Colleggia are taking on Yiddish cuisine (and vice versa) at Kern, the lovely Polish name of Delphine’s mum. In this sleek delicatessen with an open kitchenette, unfinished walls and a zinc bar, the duo stitch together a handful of sandwiches on buns, bagels, rolls or hallah bread. For us, the day we went for lunch: a lovely “tune” that paired Sidi Jabeur tuna, a perfect soft-boiled egg, potatoes, Kalamata olives, capers and a harissa / preserved lemon mayonnaise. How about something on the side? There’s sweet creamed corn with croutons and sesame seeds, before a slice of the unmissable babka of the day made by MaMi. Also available on the blackboard menu: sandwiches stuffed with pastrami, cheddar and a fried egg; shredded chicken marinated in honey and ginger, with coleslaw and pickles; or ricotta, roasted beets, lemony fennel and pine nuts. // Albert Gredinbar

FEELING THIRSTY? Hey Dude peach and watermelon iced tea (€6 for 330 ml), On Lemon lime and rhubarb lemonade (€5.50) and Ten Belles coffee (€2.50).
PRICE: Full combo menu €16, individual sandwiches €9-12.

 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Kern

Restaurant Kern (Paris)

© Albert Gredinbar

  • Date
  • partager

Où casse-daller à mi-chemin entre Tunis et Cracovie ? À un jeté de hallah de la grande synagogue de Paris, Delphine Laguerre (ex-Sando Club et Cevicheria) et Mona Colleggia séfaradent la cuisine yiddish (et vice-versa) chez Kern, le doux patronyme polonais de la maman de Delphine. Dans ce delicatessen épuré avec kitchenette ouverte, murs à vif et zinc à commandes, les assoc’ ficèlent une flopée de sandwichs en bun, bagel, roll ou hallah. Pour nous, ce midi-là : un kiffant « tune » associant thon Sidi Jabeur, parfait œuf mollet, PDT, olives de Kalamata, câpres et mayo harissa / citron confit. En escorte ? Une douce crème de maïs avec croûtons et sésame, avant l’incontournable part de babka du jour signée MaMi. À l’ardoise également : pastrami, cheddar, œuf au plat ; effiloché de poulet mariné au miel et gingembre, coleslaw et pickles ; ou ricotta, betteraves rôties, fenouil citronné et pignons de pin. // Albert Gredinbar

POUR LA SOIF ? Ice tea Hey Dude à la pêche et pastèque (6 € les 33 cl), limonade On Lemon au citron vert et à la rhubarbe (5,50 €) et kawa Ten Belles (2,50 €).

LES PRIX :  Menu complet 16 €, sandwichs 9-12 €.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.