restaurant

Le Vivier

Restaurant Le Vivier (Marseille)

© Le Vivier

  • Date
  • share

A stone’s throw from Cours Ju’. Alexis Couët (ex-La Robe and Le Palais in Paris) and Serge Lacombe (the owner of Les Rouquins and Giulia, both of which are in Paris) have docked a neo-café with a zinc-topped bar that can seat six, and big wicker baskets covering the ceiling – a Vivier (or “fish tank”) where you can catch yourself a very briny dinner. From inside the kitchen, Corentin Mailloux (ex-Hôtel Amour Nice) unveiled a menu brimming with sea spray, which still had the kinks being worked out the night we went: a half-dozen Isigny oysters, served with seaweed butter and some lovely bread from Pain Pan!; palourde clams swimming around in a seafood broth that lacked a little complexity; sea urchin that was whipped up by a lovely cardamom Bisque emulsion; a delicious scallop carpaccio caressed by coconut oil; a temaki-style cone of nori seaweed, wrapped around a ling tartare and rice that was unfortunately a little overcooked; an exquisite soup that combined corn, crabmeat and spicy jalapeño; before an incredible chocolate cake with lime zest. For lunch, you’ll find more briny options: razor clams in persillade, mussels cooked in chorizo… // Antoine Antoine

FEELING THIRSTY? Strong choices ahead: a Sancerre white from the Domaine Pellé (€7 a glass), an orange Roussillon wine produced by Marc Barriot (€35 a bottle), a Pouilly-Vinzelles from La Soufrandière (€55)…
PRICE: Plates €7-12, oysters €15 for a half-dozen.

 

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, tools that allow you to find the best takeaway and delivery options for your neighborhood or make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Le Vivier

Restaurant Le Vivier (Marseille)

© Le Vivier

  • Date
  • partager

À un jet d’eau de mer du cours Ju’, Alexis Couët (ex-La Robe et le Palais à Paris) et Serge Lacombe (prop des Rouquins et de Giulia, toujours à Paris) ont amarré une néo-cambuse avec zinc pour six paires de fesses et gros paniers en osier tapissant le plafond – un Vivier où piocher son dîner tout iodé. Aux platines, Corentin Mailloux (ex-Hôtel Amour Nice) dégainait ce soir-là un menu plein d’embruns, mais encore en rodage : demi-douzaine d’huîtres d’Isigny, servies avec un beurre d’algues et la géniale miche de Pain Pan ! ; palourdes barbotant dans un bouillon marin manquant d’un brin de relief ; oursin fouetté par une fringante émulsion de bisque à la cardamome ; délicarpaccio de saint-jacques caressé par de l’huile de coco ; cornet d’algue nori façon temaki, emballant un tartare de lingue et du riz malheureusement surcuit ; exquise soupe mêlant maïs, chair de tourteau et jalapeño qui arrache ; avant un terrible gâteau choco et zestes de citron vert. Pour le déj’, même trame saline en mode bar à fruits de mer : couteaux en persillade, moules au chorizo… // Antoine Antoine

POUR LA SOIF ? Avis de vin fort : sancerre blanc du Domaine Pellé (7 € le verre), macération du Roussillon par Marc Barriot (35 € la quille), pouilly-vinzelles signé La Soufrandière (55 €)…

LES PRIX : assiettes 7-12 €, huîtres 15 € la demi-douzaine.

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.