restaurant

Racines

  • Date
  • share

In the former Convent of the Visitation that’s been given a facelift, a collection of bars and restaurants produce a merry hubbub. Among them is Racines, the latest restaurant from Franck Gérôme and Jean-Charles Huon (who also run L’Un des Sens). It’s a chic wine bar (red walls, roots painted on the wall, a wine cellar behind glass…) with a terrace with tightly-squeezed-together tables. The night we went, we nibbled on shared plates to go with the lovely wines, including: some excellent, locally sourced platters that combined a handful of veggies with Rémon smoked trout, or some delicious rilllettes from La Rouelle de Veau; lovely charcuterie, like Basque ham from Pierre Oteiza, Italian Villani truffled ham, or Iberian La Prudencia ham; and for any snobs out there, caviar from Périgord. Finally, there are classy desserts from Maison Daguier, the best local nougat and baby vanilla baba au rhum! // Jean Pascal

FEELING THIRSTY? Three hundred very beautiful bottles, often organic and always eclectic, 30 of which are served by the glass! Like the Quincy from the Domaine Mardon (€5.50 a glass), the Côtes-du-Forez red from Gilles Bonnefoy (€6.50), the Arbois from the Domaine Ratte (€39 a bottle), the Saumur white from Romain Guiberteau (€70).
PRICE: Platters €9-35.

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Racines

  • Date
  • partager

Dans l’ancien couvent de la Visitation fraîchement lifté, un fourmillement de bars et restaurants participe à un joyeux brouhaha. Parmi eux, Racines, dernier-né de Franck Gérôme et Jean Charles Huon (tauliers de L’Un des Sens) : une cave à manger bon chic bon genre (parois rouges, racines graphiques au mur, cellier en verre…) et à l’extérieur collé-terrasserré. À picorer et partager ce soir-là, pour accompagner leurs quilles de compète, des planches canons et sourcées de près, associant à une orgie végétale une truite fumée Rémon, ou les évidentes rillettes de La Rouelle de Veau ; de la charcut’ en veux-tu en voilà, du jambon basque de Pierre Oteiza au truffé italien Villani, en passant par l’ibérique La Prudencia ; et même, pour les plus snobs, du caviar périgourdin. Enfin, en desserts shortlistés de la Maison Daguier, les meilleurs nougats du coin ou des bébés babas rhum-vanille ! // Jean Pascal

POUR LA SOIF ? Des canons très canons, biosympathisants et éclectiques, au nombre de 300, dont une trentaine au verre ! Comme le quincy du Domaine Mardon (5,50 € le verre), le côtes-duforez rouge de Gilles Bonnefoy (6,50 €), l’arbois rouge du Domaine Ratte (39 € la quille) ou le saumur blanc de Romain Guiberteau (79 €).

LES PRIX : planches 9-35 €.

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide papier et numérique des restaurants, chef·fe·s, bars, chambres d’hôte et hôtels de style qui font le « goût de l’époque », un palmarès annuel des nouvelles adresses partout en France, un service répertoriant le meilleur du take-away et de la livraison, un outil de réservation de super bistrots, des événements gastronomiques, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus… Tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.