restaurant

L’Epicerie de Dienne

L’Epicerie de Dienne (Dienne)

© Nathalie Balland

  • Date
  • share

Another Brit has come to shake up the Auvergne region! Following in the footsteps of Harry Lester (Le Saint-Eutrope) and Peter Taylor (Auberge de Chassignolles), Christopher Wright headed to these volcanic lands back in 2016. In his organic bistro/épicerie (blonde wooden furniture, wild flower bouquets, regional postcards, an open kitchen), the former chef of Le Timbre in Paris pampers the best local ingredients he can get his hands on. Featured on the prix-fixe menu, the day we went for lunch: a very fresh salad featuring tomatoes, hard-boiled eggs and anchovies; delicious lamb shoulder that was stewed and then flash-seared, paired with juicy buttered carrots; an incredible local cheese plate (for a few extra bucks); before a perfectly tangy lemon tart. // Pauline Chatelan

FEELING THIRSTY? Forty-some wines, most of which are natural: an Ardèche Grenache from Stephan Elzière (€23 a bottle) or Escargot, an Auvergne Chardonnay from Les Tricot (€32).

PRICE: Menu €24 (cheese plate + €4).

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

L’Epicerie de Dienne

L’Epicerie de Dienne (Dienne)

© Nathalie Balland

  • Date
  • partager

Meilleur bistrot de village Guide 2017

Encore un Briton venu ambiancer les contrées auvergnates ! Dans le sillage de Harry Lester (Le Saint Eutrope) et Peter Taylor (Auberge de Chassignolles), Christopher Wright a migré vers les volcans en 2016. Là, dans son bistrot-épicerie bio (mobilier en bois blond, bouquets de fleurs sauvages, cartes postales du coin, cuisine ouverte), l’ex-chef du Timbre à Paris bichonne les meilleurs produits du terroir. Au menu, ce soir-là : réconfortante soupe de courgette au vieux cantal – ou délicieux mijoté de tête de cochon aux blettes ; capiteux parmentier de queue de bœuf au foie gras ; assiettes de fromages locaux qui déchirent (moyennant supplément) ; avant un croquant cornet de Murat maison, servi avec une terrible compotée de pêches. // Zinnia 

POUR LA SOIF ? Une quarantaine de références vinales, nature pour la plupart : gamay ardéchois de Stéphan Elzière (26 € la bouteille), pinot-noir auvergnat des Tricot (33 €)… 

LES PRIX : menu 27 € (assiette de fromages + 4 €). 

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.