restaurant

La Traversée

La Traversée (Paris)

© Studio Frigo

  • Date
  • share

Take a bar, a restaurant and an apartment, knock down the walls and strip the floors, and you might end up with a sort of three-level speakeasy with two entrances, a terrace and a sandwich and cookie shop attached. Running this beautiful mess is Camille Rousseau, Witold Bertrand and Charles Neyes (a self-taught chef), formerly of École Hôtelière Vatel. They’re lighting up Montmartre evenings a dozen small plates at a time: gilt-head bream ceviche, Black Angus rib-eye, duck confit and green harissa croquettes… And at lunch? They’ve got a perfect menu: tuna marinated lightly in ponzu sauce and brightened by some wasabi mayonnaise and guacamole; a monstrous portion of tender grilled octopus on a bed of hearty hummus, tickled by preserved lemon and cilantro; before roasted apricots, juniper bud cream and homemade yogurt with toasted sesame seeds. // G.D.

FEELING THIRSTY? A little of everything: Déesse beer from Normandy (€3 for a half-pint), and Appie cider on tap (€3.50 for 250 ml), a beautiful selection of wines by the glass (Alsace Kumpf et Meyer – Y a plus qu’à, €7), plus a whole collection of bottles to explore: Cahors Pur Fruit du Causse from the Domaine Combel-La-Serre (€26 a bottle), a rare dry Jurançon from the Domaine de Souch (€36), etc.

PRICE: Menu €17-20 (lunch), tapas €9-17 (dinner).

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

La Traversée

Le meilleur chemin de traverse pour 2018

La Traversée (Paris)

© Studio Frigo

  • Date
  • partager

Prenez un bar, un resto, un appart, cassez cloisons et planchers, et passez-les en héritage à trois zigs comme première affaire : vous obtiendrez ce lieu tire-bouchonné sur trois niveaux, avec deux entrées, une terrasse et une boutique annexe à sandwichs et cookies. Un beau bazar que pulsent Camille Rousseau, Witold Bertrand et Charles Neyers (autodidacte du piano), anciens de l’école hôtelière Vatel. Lesquels tapissent et tapassent les soirées montmartroises d’une dizaine de suggestions : rillettes de truite aux baies roses ; topinambour siphonné, chips de carotte et noix torréfiées ; tacos renfermant cochon effiloché, mimolette, chipotle et pickles d’oignon… Et pour le déj’ ? Ce midi-là, un menu impec : crémeux tarama maison saupoudré de nigelle ; fondant dos de cabillaud snacké, courgettes grillées, crème de pistache et citron vert ; avant des figues joufflues comme un chérubin, pochées à l’hibiscus, alanguies sur un crumble d’amande et accompagnées d’un sorbet aux fruits rouges. // Laura Dargent

POUR LA SOIF ? Une mousse La Déesse (3 € le demi), du cidre Appie à la pression (3,50 € les 25 cl) et des pifs nature, à la tireuse (dont un orange alsacien des Vins Pirouettes à 20 € le pichet de 50 cl) ou en quilles – roussane ardéchoise de la Ferme des 7 Lunes, terrasses-du-larzac de Gavin Crisfield (58 € chacune)…
LES PRIX : menu 22 € (midi), tapassiettes 8-17 € (soir).

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.