restaurant

La Vierge

La Vierge (Paris)

  • Date
  • share

If you’re wondering what the Virgin Mary is doing in the bathroom surrounded by candles, it’s a nod to their opening night, when a sudden leak plunged the restaurant into darkness. Ever since, the Madonna has been discreetly watching over things at this formidable bistro (a varnished bar, wine crates) run by Greg Back (the boss over at Les Pères Pop’), in which the talented duo, Jack Bosco Baker (ex-Jourdain) and Elsa Dalsheimer, cook up a storm under the watchful eye of Matt Robertson. The last time we went, the unbeatable lunch menu featured red cabbage salad with hazelnuts and a smoked eel cream; delicious minestrone with carrots, beans, turnips and sizeable clams; before a nasturtium and stewed rhubarb panna cotta. At night, small plates make their way onto the scene: skate rillettes; pig’s head pressé; crab and cherry tomato tortellini; tagliatelle alla chitarra with lamb ragù and pecorino; roasted porchetta with radicchio and Parmesan… // R.deC.

FEELING THIRSTY? The top of the naturophile game: a Vaucluse Merlot from La Ferme des Arnaud (€3.50 a glass), Tète Nat’, a sparkling Loire white (€29 a bottle), Ruben, a Saumur-Champigny from Sébastien Bobinet (€28), Romanissa, a Roussillon red from the Domaine Matassa (€36)…

PRICE: Set menus €18-20 (lunch), plates €5-18 (dinner), à la carte €30-45 (weekends).

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

La Vierge

Ils changent les billets de vingt en festins !

La Vierge (Paris)

  • Date
  • partager

Si vous vous demandez ce que la Vierge fiche dans les chiottes entourée de photophores, sachez que c’est un clin d’œil au soir d’ouverture, lorsqu’un brusque dégât des eaux plongea le resto dans l’obscurité. Depuis, la madone veille discrètement sur l’ordinaire de ce formidable troquet (comptoir verni, casiers à pifs), piloté par Greg Back (boss des Pères Pop’) et mitonné par un duo d’enfer, Jack Bosco Baker (ex-Jourdain) et Elsa Dalsheimer, sous la houlette de Matt Robertson. L’autre fois, dans l’imbattable menu déj’ : salade de chou rouge, noisettes et crème d’anguille fumée ; délicieux minestrone de carotte, haricot et navet, le tout agrémenté de grosses coques ; avant une panna cotta au tagète et à la rhubarbe confite. Le soir, des petites assiettes extra entrent en scène : rillettes d’aile de raie ; pressé de tête de cochon ; tortellini au crabe et tomates cerises ; tagliatelle alla chitarra, ragoût d’agneau et pecorino ; porchetta rôtie, trévise et parmesan… // R.deC.

POUR LA SOIF ? Au top de la naturophilie : merlot vauclusien de la Ferme des Arnaud (3,50 € le verre), pétillant blanc ligérien Tète Nat’ (29 € la quille), saumur-champigny Ruben de Sébastien Bobinet (28 €), roussillon rouge Romanissa du Domaine Matassa (36 €)…

LES PRIX : Formules et menu 18-20 € (midi), assiettes 5-18 € (soir), carte 30-45 € (week-end).

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.