restaurant

Laiterie Sainte Clotilde

Laiterie Sainte Clotilde (Paris)

  • Date
  • share

In a neighborhood with lots of government buildings, Jean-Baptiste Varenne’s Laiterie (who also owns Le Petit Varenne) is an oasis of authentic coolitude, where old légionnaires d’honneur and beautiful young people sit shoulder-to-shoulder. Hung up on the walls, the blackboard menus set the tone with bohemian-bistro cuisine, combining house classics (a gigantic steak with new potatoes, a runny Chardon chocolate cake) and progressive recipes. Just take our choice from the set menu the day we went for lunch: smoked herring with a tender potato salad, mint and a dill yogurt sauce; salmon that was still pink in the center with miso-glazed eggplant; and rice pudding with plenty of tasty caramel for dessert. // R.deC.

FEELING THIRSTY? A sharp selection: a Sauvignon Touraine from Barbu (€6 a glass), a Morgon from Michel Guignier (€45 a bottle)…

PRICE: Menu €24-28 (lunch), à la carte €37-46.

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Laiterie Sainte Clotilde

Laiterie Sainte Clotilde (Paris)

  • Date
  • partager

En plein quartier des ministères et képis au garde-à-vous, vieux légionnaires d’honneur et belle jeunesse dorée jouent des coudes dans la Laiterie de Jean-Baptiste Varenne (Le Petit Varenne, La Calèche), dans un esprit bourgeois germanopratin au charme discret – tables bistrotteuses, banquettes bleu paon, luminaire fifties, affiches d’anciennes expos d’art moderne. À la carte se côtoient plats de bonne famille (filet de bœuf, gâteau au chocolat Chardon) et recettes aventurières. Ce soir-là : envoûtante salade de trévise, gorgonzola et cerises, parsemée de menthe, estragon et pistaches ; canette rosée canon, aubergine rôtie aux noix, condiment citron et yaourt tamarin-datte ; avant de l’ananas barbotant dans une exquise nage de gingembre. // Marcelle Ratafia

POUR LA SOIF ? Des jajas habilement castés : sauvignon tourangeau de Barbu (6 € le verre), morgon de Michel Guignier (45 € la quille)…
LES PRIX : formules et menu 24-30 € (midi), carte 40-48 €.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.