restaurant

Waalo

Restaurant Waalo (Paris)

© Michael Mendes

  • Date
  • share

After being assigned a residency at Ground Control by the Refugee Food festival, Harouna Sow is settling down for good in the middle of the Sentier neighborhood! He’s heating up a co-working space with a tungsten look with Waalo, his sunny café with subtle sub-Saharan vibes (light wood, a saffron yellow counter, wax fabric cushions). Savored just like in West Africa, the day we went for lunch: incredible plantains prepared as a purée that sticks to the spoon, topped with tomato sauce and pickled red onions – or cheeky millet and herb croquettas over a bed of lemony yogurt sauce and a delicate sprinkling of paprika and smoked chili; a tender bun filled with a beef patty electrified by kankan spices and Comté cheese, served with sweet potato fries – or some majestic pollack atop attiéké (a fermented manioc semolina) dotted with peas; before a volcanic chocolate-chili cookie that maintained the warmth of this delightful lunch. // Pica Bidon 

FEELING THIRSTY? Homemade drinks, like baobab juice (€4) or a hibiscus / orange blossom combo (€4). 
PRICE: Set menus €15-19, desserts and pastries €4 to €4.50. 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Waalo

Restaurant Waalo (Paris)

© Michael Mendes

  • Date
  • partager

Après avoir été assigné à résidence par le Refugee Food à Ground Control, Harouna Sow se sédentarise en plein Sentier ! Et réchauffe un cowork’ look tungstène avec Waalo, une cantoche solaire subtilement subsaharisée – lames de bois clair, comptoir jaune safran, coussins en wax… Gobe-trottés comme en Afrique de l’Ouest, ce midi-là : zinzin foufou de bananes plantain, soit une purée collante à cuillérer avec une sauce tomatée et des oignons rouges pickelisés – ou coquettes croquettes de millet aux herbes pataugeant dans un yaourt citronné et délicatement embrasé aux paprika et piment fumés ; moelleux bun prenant en sandwich une galette de bœuf électrisée aux épices kankan sur une nappe de comté, escorté de frites de patate douce – ou lieu noir en majesté trônant sur un attiéké (semoule de manioc fermentée) piqué de petits pois ; avant un volcanique cookie choco-piment, qui prolongea pour longtemps la chaleur de cet afrikiffant déjeuner. // Pica Bidon

POUR LA SOIF ? Des amuse-glottes maison, comme ce jus de baobab (4 €) ou ce combo hibiscus / fleur d’oranger (4 €).

LES PRIX : formules et menu 15-19 €, desserts et pâtisseries 4 à 4,50 €.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.