restaurant

Yeled

Restaurant Yeled (Bordeaux)

© Yeled

  • Date
  • share

There’s a new spot on the flashy Cours du Chapeau-Rouge! After Mazal and Frida, lovebirds Sarah Pinard-Ranson and Samuel Ranson-Kaufmann have added another branch to their Levantine tree with a restaurant named Yeled – which means “descendant” in Hebrew. What makes the latest addition to their tribe so special? A certain talent for preparing fish and seafood, which we could have sworn we saw still wriggling around on the granite bar just a few seconds earlier…. The night we went, chef Jean-Christophe Martinez (ex-Hôtel de Sèze) sent out four clever courses – raw, cooked, vegetarian and dessert: soft challah served with dill butter, plus translucent raw langoustines topped with sumac, finger lime and cilantro, lounging on a light Granny smith apple mousse; crispy spelt with an incredible mustard seed tartare sauce for dipping; graceful zucchini blossom beignets sprinkled with ricotta; before plain and pickled mirabelle plums and slivered fresh almonds on a thin pastry sheet atop crème amandine and a scoop of kirsch ice cream. We devoured it all while simultaneous eying the whole fish served at the next table over from us: dry-aged and roasted bluefin tuna, salt-crusted bass, butterflied hake from Saint-Jean-de-Luz… // Raoul Taburin 

FEELING THIRSTY? A dry Lebanese white from the Muzar winery (€6.50 a glass) and a range of French wines concocted by Timothé Seguin-Medrinal, featuring everything from reasonable options (like a red Bordeaux from the Château Nicot for €29 a bottle) to more extravagant choices (like the Bâtard-Montrachet for €1,195…). Unless you’d rather opt for the talented Andreï’s cocktails (€9-14). 
PRICE: À la carte €50-90. 

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Yeled

À la pêche au cool, cool, cool...

Restaurant Yeled (Bordeaux)

© Yeled

  • Date
  • partager

Ça rejetonne sur le clinquant cours du Chapeau-Rouge, où le couple Sarah Pinard-Ranson et Samuel Ranson-Kaufmann, après Mazal et Frida, a ajouté une branche à son arbre levantin avec Yeled – « descendance » en hébreu. La particularité du petit dernier ? Un talent certain pour la préparation des poissons et fruits de mer, qu’on aurait juré voir frétiller sur le comptoir granité, il y a quelques secondes encore… Envoyés ce soir-là par le chef Jean-Christophe Martinez (ex-Hôtel de Sèze) en quatre savants mouvements – cru, cuit, végétal et final : après la hallah moelleuse servie avec du beurre d’aneth, des langoustines diaphanes montées à cru par du sumac, du citron caviar et de la coriandre, gambadant sur une mousse légère de pomme Granny ; des éperlans bien croustillants, à trempouiller dans une terrible sauce tartare aux graines de moutarde ; de graciles beignets de fleurs de courgette parsemés de ricotta ; avant des mirabelles (au naturel et en pickles) et des éclats d’amandes fraîches alanguis sur une feuille de brick dissimulant une crème amandine, et chapeautés d’une glace au kirsch. Le tout en tenant à l’œil les poissons entiers distribués aux tables voisines : thon rouge maturé et rôti, bar en croûte de sel, merlu de Saint-Jean en portefeuille… // Raoul Taburin

POUR LA SOIF ? Un blanc sec libanais du Domaine Muzar (6,50 € le verre) et une palette de vins français concoctée par Timothé Seguin-Medrinal, allant du plus raisonnable (rouge bordelais du Château Nicot à 29 € la bouteille) au plus extravagant (bâtard-montrachet à 1 195 €)… À moins d’opter pour le shaker d’enfer d’Andreï (cocktails 9-14 €).

LES PRIX : carte 50-90 €.

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.