Hors menu

Boiling Point: kitchen nightmares

Much to the dismay of popcorn lovers everywhere, there are a lot of third-rate movies about the culinary world out there. Then came the British drama Boiling Point, which will go down in cinematic history as a stand-out film in its genre.

  • Date published
  • by
    Nora Bouazzouni
  • share

© UFO distribution

Much to the dismay of popcorn lovers everywhere, there are a lot of third-rate movies about the culinary world out there. Then came the British drama Boiling Point, the latest feature film from actor and director Philip Barantini (best known for his roles in Band of Brothers and Chernobyl), which will go down in cinematic history as a stand-out film in its genre. In this immersive single-shot movie, filmed in a prestigious London restaurant, Stephen Graham puts on a phenomenal performance as an alcoholic, hot-tempered chef surrounded by a team of individuals on the verge of a nervous breakdown. The director and his lead actor sat down with Le Fooding to discuss their recipe for this semi-autobiographical film.

Philip, you used to work in the restaurant industry. Did you personally experience everything that happens in this film?

Philip Barantini: I was an actor for twenty-five years. During that time, I needed to make money because I wasn’t that successful at it. I started working in kitchens because I was so passionate about food. My grandfather was a chef and my cousin is also a chef. It was always in my blood, you know? I worked everywhere from small independent places to Michelin star restaurants, and then gradually became a head chef after ten years in the business. I worked in the industry for fifteen years in total. I’d wanted to direct for many, many years, and in 2018 I made a short film, which eventually became Boiling Point. Everything that’s in the movie was based on something that I personally witnessed: what it’s like working in a kitchen, the customers, the celebrity chefs, the Instagram influencers… The only thing that I didn’t personally witness was the racism experienced by the character Andrea, the waitress played by Lauryn Ajufo. I really wanted to shine a light on that because I know it happens. I sat down with Lauryn and we talked about it for hours, it was important to me that every moment in the movie be believable. By giving the viewer a peak behind the scenes into the world of hospitality, Boiling Point tackles societal issues: racism, mental health, or even addiction, something I’ve personally struggled with. If someone who works in a professional kitchen watches my film and says “wow, I see myself in that character” or “I know somebody who is going through that, maybe I should reach out and see if they’re ok,” I would consider my work a success.

Especially since realistic representations of this particular professional environment are quite rare on the silver screen.

Philip Barantini: The restaurant world, as it’s portrayed in Hollywood movies and on television, is always glamorized and idealized… But I think the hospitality world is so ripe for being put on film because it’s never been done in a believable way. I showed this world as real and gritty, based on what I’ve personally witnessed in my fifteen years in the industry. Some people, chefs in particular, might watch the film and go, “that’s not what it’s like anymore.” But it is.

Do you think the film will help the restaurant industry move forward by raising public awareness about the issue of kitchen violence?

Philip Barantini: If you’ve worked in hospitality, hopefully you will be able to go, “wow, I can relate to that. I understand that, it’s bringing back flashbacks.” And if you’ve only been a customer, you might go, “oh my gosh, I never knew it was like that,” or “I didn’t realize they were going through all that when they were making my beautiful meal.” A restaurant is blood, sweat and tears.

Stephen Graham: Some people are just paying for the service and don’t really care what else happens as long and their needs are being met. People have been thanking us for how truthful and real the film is. It really captured the anxiety of working in those conditions. In life, I think we need to try to be as compassionate and understanding as we possibly can. Hopefully we’re creating a model, hopefully it’s a more transparent world that we live in now, a more humane world. What we’re trying to do with Boiling Point is to hold a mirror up to a society.

It’s a very dark film. The plot focuses both on the personal anguish of the main character and the stress of a very fast-paced dinner service…

Philip Barantini: A restaurant or a bar is a cross between a small society and a family. Nine times out of ten, you’ll see that family more often than you see your real family, which also has a huge effect on people’s relationships with their loved ones. I’ve been sober for almost seven years now, but I remember when I was at my lowest point, my wife went through a terrible time back then. I wanted to drip feed all of those things that the chef has been going through into the movie: he’s suffering from addiction, he’s just broken up with his wife, he’s stopped seeing his son… It’s a dangerous moment in his life, things can’t get any worse for him.

Playing a role inspired by a friend’s life is a huge responsibility! 

Stephen Graham: The fact that some of the elements were loosely based on Philip’s life drew me to the film straight away – that, and the idea of filming it in one shot. Philip and I really wanted to make the film as real and as truthful and as authentic as possible. We’ve been good friends for over 20 years now, we’ve always kept in touch and I knew about his experience. He was very candid and honest and open about his experiences in the industry. He explained to me how stressful the job was, and at that time he was suffering from depression, drinking heavily, and taking drugs recreationally. That’s kind of socially acceptable within that environment, where you work really long, hard shifts and at the end of the day, you relax with a couple of drinks. You can find yourself in a downward spiral… Philip’s experience was invaluable to me as an actor.

Your 2018 short was filmed exclusively from the chef’s point of view. Why did you decide to include additional perspectives in the feature film?

Philip Barantini: I wanted the audience to basically be one of the staff members, like the maître d, for example, to see the cracks in people, their vulnerability – because everyone has a forward-facing mask and a private mask. Since we decided to do the feature in one take, we gave ourselves one rule: the camera was never allowed to leave a person without a reason. That was essential to creating an immersive experience, the camera couldn’t just float off to that table over there, because then you sort of take the audience out of the moment.

Very few films are filmed entirely as one continuous shot –  Sebastian Schipper’s Victoria or Alexandre Sokourov’s Russian Ark come to mind. How did you accomplish this technical challenge? 

Philip Barantini: A busy service in a restaurant is one take, you don’t get a chance to stop and break for five minutes. That’s why I think it works so well. We found the location before we started writing the script. A friend let us use their restaurant in London. I just went to the location while it was open and busy and watched how it moved and flowed. Then James Cummings (the co-writer, editor’s note) and myself started writing the script.  After that, we sort of mapped out the camera moves and brought the actors in for ten days of rehearsal. While the front-of-house guys were rehearsing, the actors who played the kitchen staff were in a real kitchen, learning how to chop things and hold a knife. I think I hired the only actors in the UK who had never worked in a restaurant before!

Stephen Graham: If I’m being honest, it was the most zen experience I’ve ever had as an actor. It was also the most challenging experience I’ve ever had, and the most rewarding. We have this philosophy and ethos of acting; great drama teachers will tell you that you have to be in the moment. And with this film, you truly have to be in the moment. There was no way you could hide, there was no second chance, there was no “let’s give it another go.” When we were filming, the collective consciousness of the experience was driving us forward like an express freight train, everyone was on the same page, all trying to achieve the same objective. The energy was tangible, it was amazing.

Philip Barantini: During filming, I always said, I’m not going to call cut, even if somebody falls over and hurts themselves. I said to the actors, just keep going. Originally, we had given ourselves four nights to shoot the whole thing, in eight different takes. But it was the beginning of the pandemic… In the end, we only had time to do four takes, and we used the third one. I didn’t have any grey hair before the movie, but now I’ve got loads!

One could argue that there are similarities between being an actor and being a professional chef, namely that both jobs require you to summon up all of your energy for a very short period of time, almost to the point of exhaustion. 

Stephen Graham: That’s a very good comparison, actually. In a way, preparing a restaurant meal is similar to preparing for a role as an actor. Before shooting, you look through the script, analyze it, do your research about the character, try to understand what your character is about… It’s a similar process for a chef: you have to know your ingredients and then be able to combine them. That’s where creativity comes into play. Finally, the food is served, it gets eaten and then it’s gone. It’s this beautiful organic process of creation and moving on to the next thing.

Interview by Nora Bouazzouni

 

  • share

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

Hors menu

The Chef : cauchemar en cuisine

Au grand désarroi des avaleur·se·s de pop-corn, les navets culinaires sont plutôt légion sur les écrans plats et de cinéma. C’est sans compter le drame The Chef, nouvelle référence ciné de l’autre côté du passe.

  • Date de publication
  • par
    Nora Bouazzouni
  • partager

© UFO distribution

Au grand désarroi des avaleur·se·s de pop-corn, les navets culinaires sont plutôt légion sur les écrans plats et de cinéma. C’est sans compter le drame The Chef (Boiling Point en V.O.), dernier long-métrage de l’acteur et réalisateur Philip Barantini (vu notamment dans Band of Brothers et Chernobyl), qui fera désormais office de référence ciné de l’autre côté du passe. Dans ce plan-séquence immersif tourné dans un gastro londonien, un Stephen Graham phénoménal campe un chef alcoolique et sanguin entouré d’une équipe au bord de la crise de nerfs. Pour le Fooding, le réalisateur et l’acteur principal reviennent sur la recette du film, en partie autobiographique. 

Philip, vous avez travaillé dans la restauration. Tout ce qui se passe dans le film, vous l’avez vécu ? 

Philip Barantini : Je suis dans le cinéma depuis vingt-cinq ans, mais à une époque où ma carrière d’acteur stagnait, j’ai dû me trouver un boulot alimentaire. J’ai commencé à bosser en cuisine parce que cela a toujours fait partie de moi : mon grand-père était chef et mon cousin est dans le métier. J’ai travaillé dans des petits restos et des étoilés, et au bout de dix ans je suis devenu chef. J’ai été dans le milieu pendant quinze années en tout. Mais je voulais passer derrière la caméra depuis longtemps, en 2018 j’ai donc réalisé un court-métrage qui est finalement devenu le film The Chef. Tout ce qu’on y voit, je l’ai d’abord vu de mes propres yeux : le travail en cuisine, les clients, le chef médiatique, les influenceurs Instagram… L’une des rares choses que je n’ai pas vécues personnellement, c’est le racisme que subit le personnage d’Andrea, la serveuse interprétée par Lauryn Ajufo. C’était important pour moi d’en parler, car c’est une réalité. J’ai beaucoup discuté avec l’actrice, je voulais que chaque scène du film soit crédible. Sous prétexte de montrer les dessous d’un restaurant, The Chef aborde des problèmes de société : le racisme, la santé mentale ou encore l’addiction, que j’ai moi-même vécue. Si quelqu’un travaillant en cuisine voit mon film, se reconnaît et se dit qu’il devrait peut-être se faire aider, ce sera une victoire pour moi. 

D’autant que les représentations réalistes de ce milieu, au cinéma, sont assez rares… 

Philip Barantini : Le monde de la restauration, au cinéma comme à la télévision, est toujours idéalisé, glamourisé… Pourtant, je pense qu’il est prêt aujourd’hui à se regarder en face. Je voulais proposer quelque chose d’inédit mais qui ait du sens : j’ai donc montré ce milieu de manière brute et sans concession, à l’image de ce que j’ai vécu durant quinze ans. Certaines personnes, notamment des chefs, vont regarder mon film et objecter que ça ne se passe plus comme ça. Pourtant, c’est bien le cas. 

Justement, vous pensez que ce film peut contribuer à faire avancer l’industrie de la restauration et sensibiliser le public à la question des violences en cuisine ? 

Philip Barantini : Ceux qui ont déjà travaillé dans l’hôtellerie-restauration se reconnaîtront sûrement, ou reconnaîtront des situations, des gens qu’ils ont côtoyés. Mais les clients, eux, se diront peut-être : « Mince, je ne pensais pas que ça se passait comme ça, je n’imaginais pas ce que ces gens vivent pour préparer la superbe assiette posée devant moi. » Un resto, c’est du sang, de la sueur et des larmes. 

Stephen Graham : Certaines personnes s’attablent et se fichent de savoir comment travaillent ou sont traités les gens, tant qu’on leur sert ce pour quoi elles ont payé. On nous a remerciés pour la justesse du film, d’avoir montré pour la première fois l’anxiété et les conditions de travail dans la restauration. Je crois que dans la vie, il faut tenter d’être le plus compatissant et compréhensif possible. Je souhaite que nous construisions un modèle plus vertueux, et j’espère que les gens se montreront plus humains entre eux à l’avenir. C’est ce qu’on cherche à faire avec The Chef, que je coproduis notamment avec ma femme : tendre un miroir à la société pour la faire réfléchir.  

Il s’agit d’un film très sombre, où le récit repose à la fois sur les tourments du personnage principal et le stress d’un service survolté… 

Philip Barantini : Un resto ou un bar, c’est entre la microsociété et la famille. Souvent, ce sont ses collègues qu’on voit le plus, ce qui peut affecter énormément les relations avec ses proches. Même si je suis sobre depuis presque sept ans, je me souviens que lorsque j’étais au fond du trou, c’était terrible pour mon épouse. J’ai voulu montrer cette dynamique à travers ce chef, qui souffre d’addictions, est séparé de sa femme, ne voit presque plus son fils… Il est déjà au plus mal quanf le film commence, mais les problèmes s’accumulent jusqu’au point de rupture.  

Ce doit être une sacrée responsabilité, de jouer un rôle inspiré de la vie d’un ami ! 

Stephen Graham : C’est justement cet aspect autobiographique qui m’a plu – ça, et l’idée de tourner un film en plan-séquence. Avec Philip, on voulait que The Chef soit le plus réaliste, authentique et sincère possible. Et comme on se connaît depuis longtemps, il m’a beaucoup parlé de ses années en cuisine, du stress, de la souffrance et de cette période de sa vie où il buvait beaucoup et prenait de la drogue occasionnellement. C’est un comportement socialement acceptable dans ce milieu, où les gens font des shifts pénibles et interminables. On boit quelques verres pour se détendre et on se retrouve pris dans un engrenage… L’expérience de Philip a été très précieuse pour mon travail d’interprétation. 

Le court-métrage de 2018 ne suivait que le chef. Pourquoi avoir multiplié les points de vue cette fois ? 

Philip Barantini : Je voulais que le public entrevoie ce qui se passe du côté des employés comme de la directrice du restaurant, leurs fêlures invisibles et leur vulnérabilité – parce qu’on porte tous un masque. Comme je voulais tourner en plan-séquence, je m’étais fixé une règle : la caméra ne devait jamais quitter un personnage sans raison. C’était indispensable pour obtenir ce côté immersif, flotter simplement de table en table aurait fait sortir le spectateur de cette bulle. 

Peu de films ont été entièrement tournés en plan-séquence – on pense à Victoria de Sebastian Schipper ou à L’Arche russe d’Alexandre Sokourov. Comment avez-vous relevé ce défi ? 

Philip Barantini : Un service, c’est un peu comme un plan-séquence. On ne peut pas dire « Coupez ! » et s’arrêter cinq minutes pour faire une pause. C’est en cela que ce choix me semblait pertinent. J’ai d’abord trouvé le lieu avant d’écrire le scénario. Un ami nous a prêté son restaurant à Londres, où j’ai passé plusieurs soirées à observer la manière dont le staff se déplaçait dans l’espace. Après seulement, on a commencé à écrire avec James Cummings (le coscénariste, ndlr). Ensuite, il a fallu chorégraphier méticuleusement les mouvements des caméras, et faire venir les acteurs pour dix jours de répétitions. Pendant que les serveuses et barmen répétaient, celles et ceux qui étaient en cuisine apprenaient à tenir un couteau, hacher, découper… Je crois que j’ai embauché les seuls acteurs du Royaume-Uni qui n’avaient jamais travaillé dans un resto !  

Stephen Graham : Très franchement, ce tournage a été l’expérience la plus zen de ma carrière. Exigeant, certes, mais aussi extrêmement gratifiant. Vous avez beau avoir ces profs d’art dramatique qui vous disent qu’il faut être dans l’instant présent quand vous jouez, là, vous devez vraiment être dans l’instant présent ! On ne peut pas se cacher, ni recommencer en disant : « Ah oui, j’ai compris, je vais la refaire. » Sur le tournage, il y avait une espèce de conscience collective qui nous faisait aller de l’avant, comme un train de marchandises : tout le monde était sur la même longueur d’onde, avec le même objectif. L’énergie était palpable, cétait incroyable ! 

Philip Barantini : Pendant le tournage, la seule consigne que j’ai donnée, c’était de ne jamais s’interrompre – même si quelqu’un oubliait une réplique ou faisait tomber quelque chose. Quand on a commencé à filmer, on était censés tourner huit prises en deux nuits. Sauf que le Covid a fait irruption … On n’a finalement pu en faire que quatre, et c’est la troisième qu’on a gardée. Avant de tourner ce film, je n’avais pas un seul poil blanc… Aujourd’hui, ma barbe est à moitié grise ! 

On peut penser qu’il existe des similitudes entre le métier de chef et celui d’acteur, notamment celle de devoir mobiliser toute son énergie pendant une période très définie, jusqu’à l’épuisement… 

Stephen Graham : C’est une très bonne comparaison ! Je pense aussi à la ressemblance entre la préparation d’un rôle et celle d’un plat. Avant de tourner, un acteur va lire le scénario, l’analyser, essayer de comprendre son personnage, faire des recherches… Pour un chef, c’est la même chose : il faut connaître les ingrédients, et ensuite les assembler. C’est à ce moment-là qu’intervient la créativité. Enfin, on sert cette chose incroyable, puis c’est terminé. Je dirais qu’on a en commun ce processus créatif : on crée, puis on passe à la suite. 

Propos recueillis par Nora Bouazzouni 

Sortie nationale en salle le 19 janvier 2022.

  • partager

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide papier et numérique des restaurants, chef·fe·s, bars, chambres d’hôte et hôtels de style qui font le « goût de l’époque », un palmarès annuel des nouvelles adresses partout en France, un outil de réservation de super bistrots, des événements gastronomiques, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus… Tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.