restaurant

Café du Parc

Café du Parc restaurant (Ostend)

© Julie Morgane

  • Date
  • share

It would seem that the sea air certainly worked its magic on boosting the brain cells of James Ensor and Albert Einstein, as they once sat on the terrace of this Art Deco institution (ornate counter, marbled tables, period pendant lights), nestled in the hotel of the same name built in 1929. A century later, it’s now the turn of Shannah Zeebroek, born and raised in Ostend, to be inspired for the solid menu that spans breakfast to dinner. For us, at lunchtime: lettuce heart duly grilled and adorned with crushed pistachios; Zeeland mussels with sorrel in a beurre manié sauce; as well as a classic tartare made from a cut of Bordelaise beef shoulder that’ll have you licking the knife clean, served met fries straight from the fryer. No doubt about it, we’ll be back as the tide comes in! // Anita Kane

FEELING THIRSTY? A range of wines by the glass, including a Bergerac pet’ nat’ from Albert de Conti (€8 a glass), or On S’en Fish, an organic Roussillon red from Domaine Gardiès (€50), and no less than nine beers on the menu, including a Rodenbach Grand Cru (€6 for 330 ml), and Cantillon Gueuze (€15 for 375 ml).

PRICE: lunch menu €55 (€69 with a glass of champagne), à la carte €36-67.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring « Belgium Underground » exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Café du Parc

Restaurant Café du Parc (Ostende)

© Julie Morgane

  • Date
  • partager

Il semblerait que l’air marin ait efficacement oxygéné les méninges de James Ensor et Albert Einstein à la terrasse de cette institution Art déco (comptoir ouvragé, tables marbrées, suspensions d’époque), nichée dans l’hôtel du même nom dressé depuis 1929. Un siècle plus tard, c’est au tour de Shannah Zeebroek, born and raised à Ostende, de prendre l’inspi pour ficeler une solide carte du petit déjeuner au souper. Pour nous, à l’heure du lunch : cœur de laitue dûment grillé et constellé d’éclats de pistache ; moules de Zélande à l’oseille et au beurre manié ; et classique tartare d’épaule de bordelaise à en lécher son couteau, met frites fraîches. Pas de doute, on nous y reverra à la prochaine marée ! // Anita Kane

POUR LA SOIF ? Un banc de vins au verre, dont un pet’ nat’ bergeracois signé Albert de Conti (8 € le verre) ou un rouge bio roussillonnais On s’en fish du Domaine Gardiès (50 €), et pas moins de neuf mousses à la carte – Rodenbach Grand Cru (6 € les 33 cl), gueuze Cantillon (15 € les 37,5 cl)…

LES PRIX : menu midi 55 € (69 € avec une coupe de champ’), carte 36-67 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie « Belgium Underground » qui explore les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.