restaurant

Terminus

  • Date
  • share

Terminus! Last stop, dinner’s ready! Owner of this neo-roadside diner posted up along the edge of the highway, in addition to a nearby minimart and a wine shop, Pieter Verheyde (a former sommelier at Hof Van Cleve) has got you covered! And even if the matriarch Kathleen Vanderbeke hung up her apron in 2020 after 35 years of good and loyal service behind the stoves, her son now keeps an eye on things. His credo? Seasonal cuisine and first-class local meats, starting with the barbecue. It’s not surprising that the place attacts a colorful crowd (hardcore truckers, star chefs, families, businessmen, gastronauts dining solo, etc.), which flocks here every day, always wanting more! For us, this time: well-fried pork brains with lettuce and sauce gribiche; pink pigeon breast served with crispy sweetbreads, foie gras and fresh fries; and sole meunière with coleslaw, glistening in a tasty vinaigrette. And for that little something extra, a pot of frying butter – the height of nostalgia. And to close the deal, an honest rum baba. There’s no need make a song and dance about the place, let’s keep things fuss-free! // Casimir

FEELING THIRSTY? A real bible of bottles that’s any wine lover’s dream: La Douve, a Belgian white from Entre Deux Monts (€28 a bottle), Sierra du Sud, a Côtes-du-Rhône red from Gramenon (€50) or even Les Renardes, a 2017 Corton from Jean-Claude Boisset (€160).

PRICE: Dish of the day €15 (weekday lunch), menus €37, €55 and €80, à la carte €33-88.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Terminus

  • Date
  • partager

Terminus, tout le monde à table ! Proprio de ce néoroutier garé en bord de nationale, en plus d’une supérette et d’un caviste à deux pas, Pieter Verheyde (ancien sommelier du Hof Van Cleve) assure le pif et le couvert ! Et même si la matriarche Kathleen Vanderbeke a rendu son tablier en 2020, après trente-cinq ans de bons et loyaux services derrière les fourneaux, le fiston veille au grain. Son credo ? Une cuisine de saison et une came localiste de première bourre, à commencer par la barbaque. Pas étonnant qu’une foulée bigarrée (routiers vrais de vrais, grandes toques, familles, hommes d’affaires, gastronautes solitaires…) s’y presse chaque jour et en redemande ! Pour nous, cette fois-là : cervelle de porc frite en bonne et due forme, avec laitue et sauce gribiche ; poitrine de pigeon rosée accompagnée de ris de veau croustillant, de foie gras et de frites fraîches ; sole meunière et salade de chou, mouillée d’une savoureuse vinaigrette. Avec, en extra, un pot de beurre de friture au sommet du régressif. Et pour boucler l’affaire, un honnête baba au rhum. Inutile d’en faire des tonnes, ici c’est sans chichis ! // Casimir

POUR LA SOIF ? Une véritable bible pinardière, où piocher un blanc belge La Douve d’Entre Deux Monts (28 € la bouteille), un côtes-du-rhône rouge Sierra du Sud de Gramenon (50 €) ou même un corton Les Renardes 2017 de Jean-Claude Boisset (160 €).

LES PRIX : plat du jour 15 € (midi en semaine), menus 37, 55 et 80 €, carte 33-88 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.