restaurant

Rives

Restaurant Rives (Paris)

© Rives

  • Date
  • share

La panse mène la danse! This is the motto of Thomas Cassagnes, an Aveyron native through and through, who’s renovated the old Express Bar on Rue Saint-Maur, turning it into a rustic-chic bistro (walls and counter top as white as snow, old mirrors, gramps’ old cow bells) which mixes cool vinyls with dishes from his homeland, served from midday until late, and where the belly does indeed call the shots. On the plates by Louis Kothe (ex-Champeaux, under Ducasse), refined rustic beauties, as befits: next-level sausage with aligot, roast leeks with sauce ravigote, prime rib from Maison Conquet with bearnaise sauce… Our lunch? Farçous (chard fritters seasoned with garlic and parsley) with a creamy dollop of lemon herb dip, followed by sea bass fillet flanked by a gang of thym smoked beets, before a crème brûlée generously drizzled with Jura vin jaune. And to help you digest, there’s some heavy beats blasted from the turntables… // Thomas Jossin

FEELING THIRSTY? A cool wine list that’s still work in progress, including: Point de Fuite, a Tarn red from the Domaine La Pierre Levée (€7 a glass), a white Beaujolais from Arnaud Combier (€45 a bottle), and Version Sud, a Provençal grenache vinified in Burgundy by Frédéric Cossard (same price), among other well-known heavy weights – Carmarans, Foillard, Bouju…

PRICE: Menu €34-50.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring « Belgium Underground » exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Rives

Restaurant Rives (Paris)

© Rives

  • Date
  • partager

Où la panse mène la danse ! Telle est la devise de Thomas Cassagnes, Aveyronnais pur jus qui a retapé l’ancien Express Bar de la rue Saint-Maur pour en faire un bistrot rusti-chic (murs et comptoir blancs comme neige, miroirs à carreaux ancestraux, cloches de vaches du pépé), où il mixe bons vinyles et plats de là-bas de midi à très tard. Dans les gamelles, des beautés champêtres repeignées comme il sied par Louis Kothe (ex-Champeaux version Ducasse) : aligot-saucisse de compète, poireaux au four sauce ravigote, côte de bœuf de la Maison Conquet sauce béarnaise… Notre déj’ ? Des farçous (beignets de blette, ail et persil hachés) à tamponner de crème aux herbes citronnée, suivis d’un filet de bar au sautoir escorté d’une escouade de betteraves fumées au thym, avant une crème brûlée généreusement arrosée de vin jaune jurassien. Et pour la digestion, des sons qui envoient en provenance des platines… // Thomas Jossin

POUR LA SOIF ? Une carte de pifs cool encore à l’ouvrage, dans laquelle piocher un rouge tarnais Point de fuite du domaine La Pierre Levée (7 € le verre), un beaujo blanc d’Arnaud Combier (45 € la bouteille) et un grenache provençal Version Sud vinifié en Bourgogne par Frédéric Cossard (même tarif), parmi les chouettes allocations déjà en place – Carmarans, Foillard, Bouju…

LES PRIX : carte 34-50 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie « Belgium Underground » qui explore les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.