restaurant

Spot Palace

Spot Palace (Hoosegor)

© Emilie Eychenne

  • Date
  • share

This is the place to be in the Pédebert part of town! A hangar that’s been given a cool new look, combining vintage details and industrial light fixtures. It’s the brick-and-mortar version of the Beachfood adventure, which began in 2017 as a food truck, the final iteration of which is parked next door. Tested for you the day we went for lunch, chosen from the organic and locally-sourced menu: dellllicious flash-seared octopus that was achingly tender, paired with slow-roasted figs and a piquillo pepper coulis. In addition to that? Some beautiful buns: an organic potato bun (filled with smashed blonde d’Aquitaine beef, aged English cheddar, smoked bacon, caramelized and pickled onions, homemade ketchup and a touch of mustard), plus AOP chicken or veggie buns, burritos, beef tataki… Not to mention the incredible dessert, coffee tiramisu. At night, Le Spot morphs into a pizza joint, serving things like the Capo Mannu pizza, topped with organic tomatoes, fior di latte, arugula, Parma ham aged for 14 months, stracciatella and balsamic. // Gérard Roubeix 

FEELING THIRSTY? Smoothies (€7 for 450 ml), Topa Basque cider (€4.50 for 330 ml), Oldarki Basque beers (IPA at €3.50 for 330 ml) and wine – Le Blaireau, a Languedoc red from Le Mas des Quernes at €4 a glass, L’Éclipse, a Jura white from the Domaine Cauhapé at €21 a bottle… 
PRICE: Buns €8-13, homemade fries 4.50, burritos €12.50, plates €12-14, pizzas €10-14, desserts €4. 

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Spot Palace

Spot Palace (Hoosegor)

© Emilie Eychenne

  • Date
  • partager

The place to graille dans la zone Pédebert ! Un hangar aménagé cool, combinant vintage et luminaires indus’ – la version fixe de l’aventure Beachfood, commencée en 2017 en version mobile avec un food truck, dont le dernier exemplaire est garé à côté. Testé pour vous ce midi-là sur la carte biocale : un tentacule de poulpe snacké mmmmm !, souple et tendre, avec figues confites et coulis de piquillos. À part ça ? De beaux entrepains : potato bun bio (au bœuf blonde d’Aquitaine smashé, cheddar an-glais affiné, poitrine fumée, oignons caramélisés et pickelisés, ketchup maison et pointe de moutarde), bun au poulet AOP ou végi, des burritos, un tataki de bœuf… Sans oublier, en dessert canon, le tiramisu au café. Le soir, changement de casquette, le Spot passe en mode pizzeria, avec par exemple la Capo Mannu, empilant tomates bio, fior di latte, roquette, jambon de Parme 14 mois, stracciatella et balsamique. // G.R.

POUR LA SOIF ? Des smoothies (7 € les 45 cl), du cidre basque Topa (4,50 € les 33 cl), des mousses basques Oldarki (IPA à 3,50 € les 33 cl) et du vin – rouge languedocien Le Blaireau du Mas des Quernes à 4 € le verre, blanc jurançonnais L’Éclipse du Domaine Cauhapé à 21 € la quille…

LES PRIX : Buns 8-13 €, frites maison 4,50 €, burritos 12,50 €, assiettes 12-14 €, pizzas 10-14 €, desserts 4 €.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.