restaurant

Sweet Pea

Restaurant Sweet Pea (Ciboure)

© Sweat Pee

  • Date
  • share

Doing your laundry doesn’t feel like such a chore at this old laundromat in Ciboure, which was transformed into a restaurant with just the right amount of fabric softener by the Neo Zealand born chef Lucy Shaw – who used to work at Cucina Byblos in Saint-Trop’ and Providence in Guéthary. Choose your setting: at breakfast, a quick wash cycle with scones, boiled eggs, bacon buns and granola with yogurt and fresh fruit; or, when noon strikes, opt for bright colors, like the delightful Ossau-Iraty grilled cheese sandwich filled with butternut squash and spiced red onion jam (cloves, cinnamon, star anise) made on bread from a nearby bakery. Not fully convinced yet? The lovely baba au rhum topped with crème diplomate, bathed in a citrus syrup should get the job done – unless you’d prefer some banana bread, a cookie or beetroot-ginger cake, among other sweet treats available all day long. In short, you’ll love washing your dirty laundry in public at this place. // Gérard Roubeix 

FEELING THIRSTY? Plenty of options to build up your strength for the day: a lovely juice of the day (apple, pear, celery and ginger the day we went, at €5 a glass), ginger beer (€4.50) and Azeria coffees (€1.50 to €3.50). 
PRICE: Savory eats €5-8, sweets €3-5. 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Sweet Pea

Restaurant Sweet Pea (Ciboure)

© Sweat Pee

  • Date
  • partager

La corvée de lessive passe crème (au beurre) dans cette laverie cibourienne, retapée en cantinette avec une juste dose d’adoucissant distillée par la Néo-Zélandaise Lucy Shaw – passée par Cucina Byblos à Saint-Trop’ et Providence à Guéthary. Le cycle ? Au petit déj’, un programme court de scones, œufs à la coque, bun baconné et granola / yaourt / fruits, et dès midi sonné, des options qui tachent joyeusement, comme ce jubilatoire grilled cheese empilant ossau-iraty, butternut et compotée d’oignons rouges titillée d’épices (clou de girofle, cannelle, badiane) sur le pain du boulanger voisin. Pas encore tout à fait rincé·e ? Le génial baba au rhum coiffé d’une crème diplomate et baignant dans un jus d’agrumes finit le taf – à moins de lui préférer un banana bread, un cookie ou un gâteau betterave-gingembre, parmi moult câlineries dispos à toute heure. Bref, vous allez adorer laver votre linge sale en public ! // Gérard Roubeix

POUR LA SOIF ? De quoi prendre des forces pour la journée : pimpant jus du jour (pomme, poire, céleri et gingembre cette fois-là, à 5 € le verre), ginger beer (4,50 €) et cafés Azeria (1,50 à 3,50 €).

LES PRIX : salé 5-8 €, sucré 3-5 €.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.