restaurant

Batch

Batch restaurant (Brussels)

© Batch

  • Date
  • share

Say goodbye to the outdated Ba.Ba Bagel and its round little sign, and hello to Batch with its inevitable dose of aluminum, steel, wood and glass, reflecting the taste of the times. The architects at Erased Studio weaved their magic on this all-day café which now boasts a long, zinc-topped counter, Belgian-designed Vormen stools and a glass brick wall. Here you’ll find the boss Hadrien de Vaucleroy (ex-Chalet de la Forêt and Ötap) bringing it all together with a mix of traditional and contemporary cuisine, from breakfast (œuf parfait with kale, bread and salmon trout) to small plates at dinner (steak tartare with caramelized onions, mushroom-stuffed cabbage), as well as some easy-going lunch fare, like stuffed focaccias, salads and soups. On the weekend, Batch applies the same formula as the late Ötap, with a brunch that’s anything but Sex and the City: impeccable scrambled eggs crowned with fresh herbs, overflowing atop a chunk of crusty bread from Brood; more eggs, this time cooked low and slow and covered with a creamy butternut squash velouté pimped up with labneh, hazelnuts, rosemary and dukkah; and some exquisite homemade granola under a generous dollop of yoghurt, with a zhuzh of chia pudding and a caramelized pear compote. // Jeanne Jaco

FEELING THIRSTY? Hot beverages during the day, including a Batch brew roasted by Velvet Specialty Coffee Roasters in Jodoigne, €4), as well as an army of soft drinks (like the homemade spicy soda made from Oye Yaar turmeric and ginger concentrate, same price); and at night, Velvet Espresso Martini (€13), Elegast cider (6.50 for 330 ml), or Puszta Libre red wine from Claus Preisinger (€38).

PRICE: Breakfast €4-12, lunch €10-12, brunch €10-16 (Saturday and Sunday), apéro €5-12, dinner €10-19.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Batch

Restaurant Batch (Bruxelles)

© Batch

  • Date
  • partager

Exit le vieillissant Ba.Ba Bagel et son enseigne rebondie, place à Batch et l’inévitable dose d’aluminium, d’acier, de bois et de verre qui fait le bon goût de l’époque. Sous la baguette magique du bureau d’archi Erased Studio, ce all-day café exhibe désormais un long comptoir zingué, des tabourets belges Vormen et un mur en briques translucides. Où le boss Hadrien de Vaucleroy (ex-Chalet de la Forêt et Ötap) lie la sauce en mixant cuisine tradi et d’aujourd’hui, du petit déj’ (œuf parfait et kale, pain et truite saumonée) aux tapassiettes du dîner (tartare de bœuf aux oignons caramélisés, chou farci aux champis), en passant par le lunch plutôt gentillet – focaccias garnies, salades et soupes. Le week-end, Batch applique la recette de feu Ötap avec un brunch tout sauf Sex and the City : irréprochables œufs brouillés, annoblis d’herbes fraîches et débordant d’une épaisse tranche de pain croustillant signé Brood ; encore des œufs, cuits basse temp’ cette fois et couvés par une onctueuse crème de butternut pimpée de labné, noisettes, romarin et dukkah ; et divin granola maison sous une généreuse louchée de yaourt, égayé par du pudding aux graines de chia et une compote de poires tatin. // Jeanne Jaco

POUR LA SOIF ? Pour vous câliner, des breuvages chauds en journée, dont un Batch brew torréfié à Jodoigne par Velvet Specialty Coffee Roasters (4 €) ; pour vous ambiancer, un Velvet Espresso Martini (13 €), du cidre Elegast (6,50 les 33 cl) ou une bouteille de rouge Puszta Libre par Claus Preisinger (38 €)… Mais aussi une armée de softs, comme le spicy soda maison à base de concentré curcuma-gingembre Oye Yaar (4 €).

LES PRIX : assiettes du petit déj’ 4-12 €, lunch 10-12 €, brunch 10-16 € (samedi et dimanche), apéro 5-12 €, soir 10-19 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie « Belgium Underground » qui explore les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.