restaurant

Bretone

© Bretone

  • Date
  • share

Inside the famous mosaicist Odorico’s old home, Jean-Louis Serres (Le Hibou, La Piste, La Cavale) has opened up Bretone (pronounced brétoné, in an Italian accent, a reference to the artist’s roots). Thanks to a sublime renovation, you’ll discover a cozy interior (mosaic tile floors, marble tables and ceramics pots), a very pastel patio (light green zellige tiles, a flourishing jasmine plant) and a rooftop for Gaelic delights. What will you find available à la carte? Buckwheat galettes made with locally milled flour, which will drive you wild: a competition-worthy complète (ham, an egg, Emmental cheese); an ultra-crispy one with grilled Guémené andouille, caramelized onions and wholegrain mustard; or the galette of the day featuring haddock, sautéed carrots, a runny egg, preserved lemon and pickles. Plus sweet crepes for a kiss goodbye: an extremely classic butter sugar crepe, or ones with homemade salted caramel or artisan jam. Our final tip: Bretone also serves snacks (sweet crepes and homemade pastries). // Sidonie Blethida 

FEELING THIRSTY? Brittany in all of its splendor: hoppy IPA cider from Ti-Lõ (€5.50 for 330 ml), cider from Éric Bordelet (€18 a bottle), or even pear cider from the Ferme de l’Yonnière (€16 a bottle). 
PRICE: Galettes €3-15, crepes €3.20 to €8.50, pastries €2 to €5.50. 

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring « Belgium Underground » exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Bretone

© Bretone

  • Date
  • partager

C’est dans l’ancienne maison sublimement réhabilitée du célèbre mosaïste Odorico que Jean-Louis Serres (Le Hibou, La Piste, La Cavale) a planté Bretone (à prononcer brétoné, à l’italienne, en référence aux origines de l’artiste) où se succèdent un intérieur cosy (mo-saïques au sol, tables en marbre et pots en céramique), un patio très pastel (zel-liges vert d’eau, jasmin foisonnant) et un rooftop pour délectations gaéliques, une salle de bain mosaiquée, classée. À la carte ? Des galettes au blé noir d’un moulin de la Charbonnière qui rendent (sarra)zin-zin que ce soient celles du jour : saint-jacques, fondue de poireaux au cidre, crème sauce corail et purée de pois cassés au gingembre, curcuma, poitrine fumée, sauce à l’ail noir… ou les tout aussi impeccables classiques comme la complète de compète. Le froment vient donner le mot de la fin : classico-classiciste beurre-sucre ou flambeuse au beurre d’agrumes et grand marnier enflammée à table. Dernier bon plan : Bretone table aussi sur le goûter : crêpes au froment et pâtisseries maison… // Raoul Taburin

POUR LA SOIF ? La Bretagne a soif ! Cidre IPA à la pression de la Cidrerie des Terroirs (3,80 € les 25 cl, 7€ les 50 cl, ou 13 € le litre), Sidre brut tendre d’Éric Bordelet (18 € la bouteille) et poiré artisanal de Jérôme Forget (16 € la bouteille)…

LES PRIX galettes 3-15 €, crêpes 3,20 à 8,50 €, pâtisseries 2 à 5,50 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.