restaurant

Café Bellot

Midi-minuit sans répit !

Restaurant Café Bellot (Lille)

© Rémi Debreu

  • Date
  • share

Sandwiched between the Brood bakery and the L’Affinée cheese shop, Café Bellot (which means “beautiful” in the Ch’ti) is a lovely new addition to the Saint-Michel neighborhood. In this former queer, vegan pub, wine lovers Lucas Jeanne and Quentin Dupont, both of whom used to work in advertising, are now serving dishes of the day and sammies at lunch, running a small épicerie, and selling wine and snacks until midnight! In the kitchen, you’ll find Victoria Foliguet (who also switched careers recently) and Valentina Giacobbe (ex-Papillon and Rozó) stewing up mouthwatering eats, as they did for us the day we went for lunch: delicious soft-boiled eggs with a spicy mayo and croutons; a lovely beetroot tart with asparagus and feta. We couldn’t help spotting a faluche (a local, traditional bread) sandwich with marinated chicken, olives, lemon, carrots, cilantro and ricotta, and some smoking hot French fries on a nearby table. At the end of the day, the chefs place their bets on plates composed from some of the lovely products in the épicerie section. // Sofia Sétif

FEELING THIRSTY? Neighboring breweries supply the booze, with craft beers from the Brasserie Dupont (€4 or 250 ml), the Brasserie du Singe Savant (€7.50 for 500 ml) or the Brasserie de la Senne (same price). As for the wine, there’s a Provencal orange blend of Syrah, Trebbiano and Vermentino from Fanny Daher (€6 a glass), a Roussillon Muscat from Marc Barriot (€31 a bottle) and some incredibly rare Belgian wines from Servaas Blockeel (€40-55), who Lucas used to work for during the grape harvest season.
PRICE: Sandwiches €14, dishes of the day €13-15 (lunch), platters €9-20 (dinner), fries €3.50, desserts €6-8.

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Café Bellot

Midi-minuit sans répit !

Restaurant Café Bellot (Lille)

© Rémi Debreu

  • Date
  • partager

Pris en sandwich entre la boulange Brood et la fromagerie L’Affinée, le craquant Café Bellot (« beau » en ch’ti) fait le tour de l’horloge dans le quartier Saint-Michel. Dans cet ancien pub vegan et queer, les jajaphiles Lucas Jeanne et Quentin Dupont, deux anciens pubards, la jouent désormais plats du jour et entrepains à midi, mini-épicerie dès que vous en prend l’envie, puis jaja et grignoteries jusqu’à minuit ! Aux fourneaux, Victoria Foliguet (elle aussi reconvertie) et Valentina Giacobbe (ex-Papillon et Rozó) fricotent d’aguichants frichtis sans se beurrer la biscotte, comme pour nous à l’heure du dej’ : lubriques œufs mollets ensaucés de mayo pimentée et piquetés de croûtons trop bons ; et pimpante tarte à la betterave, aux asperges et à la feta. Des œillades furent également jetées à la table voisine, qui exposait un faluche (pain tradi du coin) fourré de poulet mariné, d’olives, de citron, de carottes, de coriandre et de ricotta, et des frites encore fumantes. Pour boucler l’histoire, les cuistotes planchent le soir sur des assiettes à base de produits chéris de l’épicerie. // Sofia Sétif

POUR LA SOIF ? Les voisins mettent la pression, avec des mousses des brasseries Dupont (4 € les 25 cl), du Singe Savant (7,50 € les 50 cl) ou de la Senne (même tarif). Côté raisin : macé’ provençale de grenache, syrah, trebbiano et vermentino par Fanny Daher (6 € le verre), muscat roussillonnais de Marc Barriot (31 € la quille) et rarissimes cuvées belges signées Servaas Blockeel (40-55 €), chez qui Lucas a vendangé.

LES PRIX : sandwichs 14 €, plats du jour 13-15 € (midi), planches 9-20 € (soir), frites 3,50 €, desserts 6-8 €.

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.