restaurant

Café Mosselhuis

  • Date
  • share

“Nice fresh fish, straight from the sea!” That could be the tagline for the rustic Café Mosselhuis, docked a mere herring throw away from Vistrap, Ostend’s famous fish market. At the helm is Sofie Simones, backed up in the kitchen by Luc Pierre, who cooks everything he can get his hands on, depending on the catch of the day. Gobble up beautiful sea creatures served on gingham tablecloths, while local fishermen gather around the large table at the back for a post-fishing perk-me-up. After wolfing down some shrimp croquettes as a pre-meal snack, hook all of the following from the menu: cod, sole, mussels and ray, bascially all sea creatures great and small! And on top of that, there’s a meat dish for those yet to find their sea legs. Everything comes served with a salad, hand-cut fries and fresh mayo. And if you’re nice, the chef himself may come over with a basket of lollipops. Head’s up! It’s cash-only. // Anita Kane

FEELING THIRSTY? Nothing to write home about: Cristal beer on tap (€2.50 a half-pint) or a glass of the house red or white (€5).

PRICE: Dishes €19-25.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The new Le Fooding France Guide is available!

Inside the latest edition, discover our top 400 restaurants, bars, wine cellars, shops and hotels from all over France that’ll be the talk of the town in 2024. Anything else? Our 16-strong list of award winners you’ll not find anywhere else, and nine articles which shine a light on the taste of the times!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Café Mosselhuis

  • Date
  • partager

« Il est frais mon poisson, il est frais ! » Telle pourrait être la réclame du rustique Café Mosselhuis, arrimé à un jet de hareng du Vistrap, le fameux marché aux poiscailles d’Ostende. Ici, la patronne Sofie Simoens tient bon la barre, relayée en cuisine par Luc Pierre, qui passe à la casserole à peu près ce tout ce qui lui passe sous la main – au gré des arrivages quotidiens. De jolies bestioles à engloutir sur nappes vichy, tandis que les pêcheur·se·s du coin se refont la cerise autour de la grande table du fond. À taper dans la carte, après s’être enfilé quelques croquettes de crevettes en guise d’apéro : cabillaud, sole, moules, raie, bref, mille bêtes sous les mers ! Et en plus de ça, un plat de viande histoire de ne pas brusquer les marinophobes… Le tout servi avec une salade, des frites coupées à la main et une mayo fraîche. Et si vous êtes sympa, le chef himself se ramènera peut-être avec son panier de sucettes. Attention ! cash only. // Anita Kane

POUR LA SOIF ? Pas grand-chose : une mousse Cristal à la pression (2,50 € le demi) ou un verre de blanc ou de rouge de la maison (5 €).

LES PRIX : Plats 19-25 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.