room

1898 The Post

1898 The Post Hotel (Ghent)

© Michiel Devijver

  • Date
  • share

THE STORY: This place is Ghent’s old central post office, built in 1898 in a neo-Gothic style. Hiding behind the atmospheric hotel’s imposing wrought-iron gate is: The Cobbler, a comfortable mixo-magic cocktail bar with a cozy atmosphere; The Kitchen, a tea room in which you can bask by the fire; and some 40 hotel rooms with epistolary-related names (The Stamp, The Envelope, The Postcard, etc.), a mysterious atmosphere (fir green walls, high ceilings, well-chosen furniture), marble fitted en suite bathrooms and sometimes even balconies overlooking the Lys River. It all makes for an enchanted, almost mystical break! Double rooms starting at €250 a night. // Mado Réassouet

TOILETRIES: Guerlain products.
BREAKFAST: A well-stocked buffet featuring cheeses from up north, cold cuts, smoked trout, fruit, granola, yogurt, pastries and eggs to order… simply help yourself, while seated comfortably in The Kitchen.
LITTLE LUXURY: Climb to the top of the turret to admire the view of the medieval city of Ghent.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

chambre

1898 The Post

Hôtel 1898 The Post (Gand)

© Michiel Devijver

  • Date
  • partager

LA PETITE HISTOIRE : C’est l’ancienne poste centrale de Gand, érigée en 1898 dans un style néogothique. Derrière l’imposant portail en fer forgé de cet hôtel d’atmosphère, se cachent le Cobbler, confortable bar à cocktails mixomagiques et son atmosphère feutrée, le salon de thé The Kitchen, dans laquelle se prélasser au coin du feu, et une quarantaine de chambres aux noms épistolaires (The Stamp, The Envelop, The Postcard…) et à l’ambiance mystérieuse (murs vert sapin, hauts plafonds, mobilier choisi…), prolongées de salles de bain en marbre et parfois même de terrasses donnant sur la rivière Lys… Une parenthèse enchantée, presque mystique ! Chambre double à partir de 250 € la nuit. // Mado Réassouet

TROUSSE DE TOILETTE : Produits Guerlain.

PETIT DÉJEUNER : Buffet bien garni et composé de fromages du Nord, charcuteries, truite fumée, fruits, granola, yaourt, viennoiseries et des œufs sur commande… à prendre à volonté, bien installé dans la Kitchen.

PETIT LUXE : Grimper tout en haut de la tourelle pour admirer la vue sur la cité médiévale de Gand.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.