restaurant

Gargouille

Restaurant Gargouille (Paris)

© Gargouille

  • Date
  • share

One more bistro, what do you say? The latest bistronomic spot in the ninth arrondissement goes by the name of Gargouille. An Art Deco den with lots of big mirrors, luminous orbs and psychedelic tiling, where Jules Behar and Arthur Billard (ex-Etsi) keep customers happy in the dining room, while the French-Lebanese chef Marc-Élie Hayek (who used to work for Guy Savoy and at Contraste) crafts plates inspired by the Mediterranean. For us, the night we went: impeccable bricks like you’d get in Tunis, filled with tuna, potatoes, capers and preserved lemon, relaxing on a bed of dill and lemon yogurt; punchy baba ganoush sprinkled with sumac; flavor-packed kefta, paired with Lebanese tabbouleh, slow-cooked onions, tahini and pistachios; mouthwatering zucchini stuffed with feta cream, roasted tomatoes, pine nuts and walnuts; incredibly fresh sea bream seasoned with soujouk (a Balkan spice mix) and pickled onions; before a very good chocolate / coffee / cardamom cake with whipped cream, lemon condiment and angel hair topping. // Louise Delange 

FEELING THIRSTY? The Mediterranean in a wine glass: a Trebbiano from Abruzzo produced by Speranza (€6.50), a Catalan white from Le Mas Candi (€35 a bottle), a Languedoc red produced by Philippe Richy (€30), a Greek orange wine from the Sarris estate (€40). 
PRICE: Plates €19, set menus €25 (lunch), small plates €9-15 (dinner). 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Gargouille

Restaurant Gargouille (Paris)

© Gargouille

  • Date
  • partager

Encore un plan au compteur neuviémiste des adresses bistrotières ! Un antre Art déco déployant grands miroirs, orbes lumineux et carrelage psyché, où Arthur Billard (ex-Etsi) se mouille en salle, tandis que les arsouilles Marc-Élie Hayek (passé chez Guy Savoy et Contraste) et Jules Behar tambouillent des assiettes méditerranéennes inspirées. Pour nous, ce soir-là : impeccables bricks comme à Tunis, renfermant du thon, des pommes de terre, des câpres et du citron confit, relax sur un yaourt aneth-citron ; baba ganoush au sumac qui déboîte ; keftas en bombe, acoquinées avec du taboulé libanais, un oignon confit, du tahini et des pistaches ; aguicheuses courgettes farcies de crème de feta, tomates rôties, pignons de pin et noix ; carpaccio de dorade tout-feu-tout-frais, relevé au soudjouk (épice balkanique) et aux pickles d’oignon ; avant un gâteau choco / café / cardamome bien vnr, avec chantilly, condiment citron et cheveux d’ange. // Louise Delange

POUR LA SOIF ? La Méditerranée dans un verre à pied : trebbiano des Abruzzes signé Speranza (6,50 €), blanc catalan du Mas Candi (35 € la bouteille), rouge languedocien par Phillipe Richy (30 €), macération grecque du domaine Sarris (40 €)…

LES PRIX : assiette 19 €, formule 25 € (midi), tapassiettes 9-15 € (soir).

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.