restaurant

Jacqueline

Jacqueline Restaurant (Boechout)

© Jacqueline

  • Date
  • share

We’ve seen many a restaurant named after the owner’s wife – often usurped by (male) chefs with paunch belies who wanted to create a fantasy of grandma’s recipe and old-fashioned pots. But this particular Jacqueline is brought to you by self-taught chef Evelien Swiers, who, alongside her partner/sommelier Raf Rombouts, has invested in an old butcher’s shop that’s been kept in its original state: white metro tiling, butcher’s hooks, a marble and Formica countertop… Here you’ll fall in love with the cast of old-fashioned produce, rather than the old-fashioned recipes. Just take the evening we went: the first white asparagus of the season from Lierse, cooked impeccably and sauced with two different creams (cauliflower, pistachio), all wrapped in a lovely farmhouse buttermilk butter; glossy lacquered North Sea pollack cooked to perfection with fermented plum and sunchoke; a blushing Iberian pluma of Kintoa pork from Carnivale surrounded by mashed celeriac, plus caramelized fennel and onions with wild garlic oil; and a daring sunchoke ice cream paired with citrus cream and a white chocolate tuile. // Alba Nebbioli

FEELING THIRSTY? Natural, “but clean,” says Raf, like the dry Crémant from Jean-Luc Mouillard in the Jura (€11.50 a glass), or the Neyrou, an awesome Pinot noir from Jean Maupertuis in the Auvergne (€52 a bottle) or Sau Spitz, a Grüner-veltliner from Lichtenberger-Gonzalez (€59).

PRICE: Menu €70 (€85 with Van Tricht cheeses), food and wine pairings €39, non-alcoholic pairings €32.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The new Le Fooding France Guide is available!

Inside the latest edition, discover our top 400 restaurants, bars, wine cellars, shops and hotels from all over France that’ll be the talk of the town in 2024. Anything else? Our 16-strong list of award winners you’ll not find anywhere else, and nine articles which shine a light on the taste of the times!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Jacqueline

Restaurant Jacqueline (Boechout)

© Jacqueline

  • Date
  • partager

Des noms de bobonne à l’enseigne, on en avait déjà vus – usurpés souvent par des cuisiniers (nom masculin) au torse bombé qui voulaient se la jouer proche des mamies et des marmites. Mais cette Jacqueline-là est celle de la cheffe autodidacte Evelien Swiers, qui a investi avec son sommelier de compagnon Raf Rombouts une ancienne boucherie restée dans son jus de cuisson : carrelage métro blanc, barre à dents de loup, comptoir marbré-formiqué… Où kiffer des produits castés à l’ancienne plutôt que les recettes de la grand-mère. La preuve ce soir-là : premières asperges blanches de Lierse à la cuisson impec’, saucées d’une crème de chou-fleur, d’une autre de pistache, le tout encanaillé d’un kiffant beurre fermier au lait ribot  ; moelleux lieu jaune de la mer du Nord lustré-laqué à la prune fermentée et au topinambour ; rougissante pluma ibérique de porc Kintoa de chez Carnivale cernée de céleri-rave en purée, et de fenouil et oignons à fond sur la fondance, met huile à l’ail des ours ; et audacieuse glace de topinambour turbinée minute, mariée à un crémeux d’agrumes et une tuile au choco blanc pour la faim. // Alba Nebbioli

POUR LA SOIF ? Du nature « mais clean », précise Raf, comme ce crémant brut du Jura de Jean-Luc Mouillard (11,50 € le verre), ce terrible pinot noir d’Auvergne Neyrou de Jean Maupertuis (52 € la bouteille) ou ce grûner-veltliner autrichien Sau Spitz de Lichtenberger et Gonzalez (59 €).

LES PRIX : menu 70 € (85 € avec fromages Van Tricht), accords mets-vins 39 €, sans alcool 32 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.