restaurant

L'Express

  • Date
  • share

Perhaps so as not to overshadow its neighbors on Rue des Pittas, this kebab shack has disguised itself as an eatery serving dürüms, salads and everything in between. Make no mistake about it: behind the plastic tables and the non-stop hordes of hungry bellies coming and going, L’Express is a (fast, admittedly) Lebanese restaurant with some truly tasty treats! Duly gobbled up: creamy hummus topped with marinated beef shawarma; impeccable moutabal (smoked eggplant purée); extremely fresh labneh; chicken shawarma doused in a garlic sauce and wrapped in flatbread, which alone is worth the detour; a lovely dish combining marinated beef, hummus, plump falafel drizzled in tahini, pickles and a huge, tangy fattouch salad served with fried bread. Take away to eat on the most beautiful square in the world, or chow down in house among the hubbub of the ground floor, rather than the not-so-lively basement. // Heloise Bartsoen

FEELING THIRSTY? A variety of fresh juices – Pina rouge (strawberry, pineapple), Désert (mint, lemon), Kamikaze (avocado, banana, milk) at €6.50-€7 a glass – along with arak (€7) and fresh mint tea served with a slice of lemon (€3).
PRICE: Sandwiches €5-12, starters €2-15, plates €13-19.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring « Belgium Underground » exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

L'Express

  • Date
  • partager

Peut-être pour ne pas faire de l’ombre à ses voisins de la rue des pitas, cette brocherie s’est déguisée en snack à dürüms-salade-tout. Qu’on ne s’y trompe pas : derrière les tables en plastoc et le va-et-vient incessant des grailleur·se·s, L’Express est un resto (rapide, certes) libanais qui dépopote ! Dûment gobés : crémeux houmous toppé de shawarma de bœuf mariné ; moutabal (purée d’aubergine fumée) impec’ ; très frais labneh ; shawarma de poulet enroulé dans un flatbread avec sauce à l’ail, qui vaut à lui seul le détour ; kiffante assiette associant bœuf mariné, houmous, dodu falafel saucé de tahini, pickles et une immense fattouch – salade bien acidulée servie avec du pain frit… À emporter sur la plus belle place du monde, ou à avaler dans le brouhaha du RDC. À la cave, ambiance moins survoltée. // Héloïse Bartsoen

POUR LA SOIF ? Une carte de jus frais – Pina rouge (fraise, ananas), Désert (menthe, citron), Kamikaze (avocat, banane, lait) à 6,50-7 € le verre – mais aussi arak (7 €) et thé à la menthe fraîche et citron (3 €).

LES PRIX : sandwich 5-12 €, entrées 2-15 €, assiettes 13-19 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie « Belgium Underground » qui explore les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.