restaurant

Liu Lin

Liu Lin restaurant (Brussels)

© Liu Lin

  • Date
  • share

Street grub like you’d get in Taiwan, and what’s more, it’s vegan! Welcome to the Upside Down in Marolles, where things are running smoothly in this adorable restaurant (pastel chairs, wooden tables, vintage tiling) managed by half-sisters I-wen Liu and Hsuan Lin – the former used to work at Loving Hut in Leuven, the latter in the world of ethical fashion. Almost as soon as we ordered them at the bar, the platters seem to arrive: smoutebollen disguised as calamari to dip in a homemade wasabi vegannaise; “scampi” beignets (which were in reality konjac konnyaku dough) in a spicy red pepper chili sauce; before an excellent Chinese-spiced broth with rice noodles, Chinese cabbage, fried tofu gyoza, edamame, spring onions, cilantro, fried tofu and shiitake mushroom ballekes (meatballs). Grabbed from the fridge and brought home to leave room for the next round of salivating guests, a portion of a peanut-heavy snickers dessert. // Luce Berdon

FEELING THIRSTY? A handful of alcohol-free drinks: Yugen mango-turmeric kombucha (€5), Ritchie Cola (€3.80), Pajottenlander apple juice (€3.50), Yogi Tea (€3 a cup)…

PRICE: Appetizers €3-7, mains €17.50, desserts €4 to €4.50.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Liu Lin

Restaurant Liu Lin (Bruxelles)

© Liu Lin

  • Date
  • partager

De la street-graille comme à Taïwan, vegan en sus… C’est le monde à l’envers dans les Marolles, mais qui tourne rond et bon dans le minouche resto (chaises pastel, tables en bois, carrelage vintage) des demi-sœurs I-wen Liu et Hsuan Lin – la première passée par Loving Hut à Leuven, la seconde exfiltrée de la mode éthique. Aussitôt commandés au comptoir, les plateaux le quittent volle gas, avec en trompe-l’œil : des smoutebollen déguisés en calamars, à tremper dans une vegannaise maison au wasabi ; et des beignets de « scampis » (en réalité de la pâte de konjac konnyaku) saucés-pimentés au poivron rouge ; avant un excellent bouillon aux épices chinoises garni à mac de nouilles de riz, chou chinois, gyoza frits au tofu, edamame, cébette, coriandre, tofu frit et ballekes de shitakés. Chopée au frigo et embarquée en take-away pour laisser place aux salivants suivants, une part de crapuleux snickers bien cacahuétés. // Luce Berdon

POUR LA SOIF ? Une ribambelle de boissons sans alcool : kombucha Yugen mangue-curcuma (5 €), Ritchie Cola (3,80 €), jus de pomme Pajottenlander (3,50 €), Yogi Tea (3 € la tasse)…

LES PRIX : entrées 3-7 €, plats 17,50 €, desserts 4 à 4,50 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

Le guide Fooding 2024
est sorti !

Restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres : les 400 adresses qui vont faire 2024 partout en France sont à retrouver dans cette édition inédite. Avec ça ? Un palmarès de 16 spots pas-vus-partout, et 9 articles mag qui décortiquent l’imagerie de la food contemporaine.

Disponible en kiosque, dans toutes les (bonnes) librairies et sur notre e-shop.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.