restaurant

Mecha Uma

Mecha Uma (Arles)

© Mecha Uma

  • Date
  • share

Mécha Uma: a contraction of the Japanese terms mechakucha and umai, which you might translate as “really good food.” That’s what Kohei Ohata (ex-Kitchen Galerie and KGB run by the talented William Ledeuil in Paris) serves anyways, in his café with a pistachio green bar and scrap metal chairs, which could easily be featured in the pages of Milk Déco magazine… Meanwhile, the eight or so ramen on his menu could compete in the Bol d’Or: delicious ajitama ramen topped with two slices of pork, minced chives, a perfectly soft-boiled egg and naruto (Japanese surimi with the pink circle in the middle!); hearty vegan ramen with soy beans, wakame seaweed and bamboo shoots, all bathed in a comforting soy milk broth… Along with a few well-prepared Japanese specialties, starting with the homemade soy bean bao buns for the appetizer of the day, or the lovely Japanese salad composed of tofu, wakame and mizuna leaves, topped with a nice sesame dressing. And for dessert (which wasn’t homemade, unfortunately!), there’s doughy dorayaki (Japanese pancakes stuffed with red bean paste) or green tea ice cream mochis. // Gwen Jacquère 

FEELING THIRSTY? : Iced green tea (€3 for 330 ml), Ramune lemonade (€4.50 for 200 ml), Kirin on tap (€3.50 for a half-pint), Yamazaki whisky (€14 for 40 ml) and even a few wines that you rarely see in French ramen-yas, including Le Roucas, a fantastic Provence red produced by Dominique Hauvette (€52 a bottle).  
PRICE: : Ramen €13-17, appetizers €7, desserts €4-9, student menu €10 (weekday lunch). 

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Mecha Uma

Mecha Uma (Arles)

© Mecha Uma

  • Date
  • partager

Mécha Uma : contraction des termes japonais mechakucha et umai, qu’on pourrait traduire par « cuisine trop bonne »… Celle que pratique Kohei Ohata, ex-Kitchen Galerie et KGB de l’excellent William Ledeuil à Paris, dans sa cantine à comptoir pistache et chaises en ferraille, qu’on ne verra pas dans les pages de Milk Déco… En revanche, la huitaine de ramen pouvaient ce soir-là concourir au Bol d’or : délicieux ajitama ramen agrémentés de deux tranches de porc, cébette ciselée, œuf parfaitement mollet et naruto (le surimi japonais avec le cercle rose au milieu !) ; roboratifs vegan ramen avec pousses de soja, algues wakamé et pousses de bambou, le tout recouvert de bouillon au lait de soja… Mais aussi quelques nipponités bien ficelées, à commencer par les bao maison aux fèves de soja en entrée du jour, ou l’épatante salade japonaise avec tofu, wakamé et salade mizuna, dopée par une bonne sauce sésame. En desserts (pas maison, dommage !), un dorayaki (pancake japonais fourré aux haricots rouges) pâteux ou un mochi glacé au thé vert. // Gwen Jacquère

POUR LA SOIF ? Thé vert froid (3 € les 33 cl), limonade Ramune (4,50 € les 20 cl), Kirin à la pression (3,50 € le demi), whisky Yamazaki (14 € les 4 cl), et même quelques vins rarement vus dans des ramen-ya en France, à commencer par Le Roucas, fantastique rouge provençal de Dominique Hauvette (52 € la bouteille).

LES PRIX : Ramen 13-17 €, entrées 7 €, desserts 4-9 €, menu étudiant 10 € (midi en semaine).

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie « Belgium Underground » qui explore les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.