restaurant

Mômes – Bande de Gourmets

  • Date
  • share

Take three sales mômes (French for ‘brats’): caterer Pascal Bénac, chef Jauris Gilles (ex-Table Sébastien Gravé) and wine lover Julien Fernandez; put them in a Basque space that’s had a facelift by interior designer Aurore Dehez (smooth concrete floors, a tiled bar, a pool-blue ceiling) and watch them play like children…. The other night, the €38 prix-fixe menu included some lovely beef tataki marinated in pesto and served with wasabi mayo and pickled onions; a vivifying scallop tartare with a carrot-yuzu cream and pickled butternut squash; flavor-packed Galician octopus in filo pastry, dotted with chipotle mayonnaise and smoked paprika… What came next? Flash-seared foie gras with a perfect oeuf parfait and artichoke mousse; a tender veal chop from Saint-Palais, perfectly cooked and cuddled amongst a red cabbage mousseline, with anchovies and fat polenta fries; before a trio of desserts (pear-praline, chocolate-peanut tart and butternut squash crème brûlée). Wowzers! // Gérard Roubeix

FEELING THIRSTY? A few natural wines: a Saumur Blanc from the Château de Villeneuve (€25 a bottle), a Bergerac orange wine from the Château Tour des Gendres (€24), a Côtes-du-Rhône red from Gramenon (€35)…. And make sure not to miss the house cocktails, like the Carda-Mômes (G’Vine gin, cardamom infusion, lime, maple syrup – €10).
PRICE: Set menus €26-32 (weekday lunch), dinner €38 (five appetizers, one main, three desserts – dinner and lunch on the weekends).

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Mômes – Bande de Gourmets

  • Date
  • partager

Prenez trois sales mômes : le traiteur Pascal Bénac, le cuistot Joris Gille (ex-Table Sébastien Gravé) et le jajaphile Julien Fernandez ; plantez-les dans une plaine de jeux basque liftée par l’archi Aurore Dehez (béton lissé, comptoir carrelé, plafond piscine), et regardez-les s’éclater comme des gosses… L’autre soir, dans le menu à 38 € : kiffant tataki de bœuf mariné saucé de pesto et mayo au wasabi, oignons pickelisés ; finger de jarret de veau tout fondant, coiffé de sucrine et arrosé de jus de cuisson ; vivifiant tartare de saint-jacques, avec crémeux carotte-yuzu et pickles de butternut ; bombesque poulpe de Galice en feuille de brick, moucheté de mayo au chipotle et paprika fumé… La suite ? Foie gras snacké escorté d’un œuf parfaitement parfait et d’artichaut en mousse et nature ; tendre côte de veau de Saint-Palais, cuisson impec, taquinant une mousseline de chou rouge, avec anchois et grosse frite de polenta ; avant un trio poire-pralin, tarte choco-cahuètes et crème brûlée au butternut. Ouf ! // Gérard Roubeix

POUR LA SOIF ? Quelques pifs nat’ : saumur blanc du Château de Villeneuve (25 € la bouteille), macération bergeracoise du Château Tour des Gendres (24 €), côtes-du-rhône rouge de Gramenon (35 €)… Et ne ratez surtout pas les cocktails maison, comme le Carda-Mômes (gin G’Vine, infusion de cardamome, citron vert, sirop d’érable – 10 €).

LES PRIX : Formules et menus 26-32 € (midi en semaine), soir 38 € (5 entrées, 1 plat, 3 desserts – soir et midi le week-end).

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.