restaurant

Racines

Racines Restaurant (Brussels)

© Christian Hagen

  • Date
  • share

Ever since 2015, Capri-born chef Ugo Federico and Florentine sommelier Francesco Cury have made Racines a Brussels beacon of pan-Italian cuisine, located next to Monella, their small shop serving pizze fritte. The setting? A long counter facing the stoves and a white-bricked dining room overlooking the garden. Mixing the finest seasonal, local and transalpine supplies, the evening menu (which can be upgraded with two bonuses, a huge ravioli filled with a whole burrata, and black truffle agnolotti) lined up: mini antipasti – roast meagre in an insanely good tomato-caper sauce, a surprising ricotta croquette and pear puree, sublime coppa on a cooked potato roll, and a white bean and cabbage leaf soup, an elevated version of a classic peasant recipe; flawless pasta served as a nest of tagliatelle alla genovese (onion sauce) topped with raw smoked amberjack; heady Spanish Basque beef tenderloin with braised endives and a red wine sauce; and a red-stained pear cooked in (even more) red wine, with crumble topping and white wine sabayon. // Ringo de Balmalon

FEELING THIRSTY? Crates and bottles are displayed at the entrance, and the 50-page list of living Italian (and French) wines proves that Racines is as much an enoteca as it is a trattoria. Served by the glass, there are wines of the moment at €10, like Jakot, a Tocai from Radikon in the Venezia Giulia (€28), and Brea Vigna Ca’ Mia, a Barolo from Brovia (€38), along with other exceptional bottles. Wine pairing €35-120.

PRICE: Menus €32-46 (lunch on Friday) and €75, extra dishes €12 and €30, food and wine pairings €40-50.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring « Belgium Underground » exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Racines

Restaurant Racines (Bruxelles)

© Christian Hagen

  • Date
  • partager

Depuis 2015, Ugo Federico (le cuisinier), originaire de Capri et le Florentin Francesco Cury (le sommelier) ont fait de Racines un phare bruxellois de la cuisine panitalienne, à côté de leur comptoir à pizze fritte Monella. Le cadre ? Un long comptoir face aux fourneaux et une salle briquée de blanc donnant sur jardin. Mêlant approvisionnements local et transalpin de choix et de saison, le menu du soir (qu’on peut upgrader de deux bonus, une énorme raviole renfermant une burrata entière, et un agnolotti à la truffe noire) alignait pour nous des antipasti mini – maigre rôti et sauce tomate-câpres de dingue, surprenante croquette de ricotta et purée de poire, sublime coppa sur un roulé de pomme cuite, et potage gastro-paysan de haricots blancs et feuille de chou ; une pasta sans faute sous la forme d’un nid de tagliatelle alla genovese (sauce aux oignons) surmonté de sériole fumée crue ; un capiteux filet de bœuf du Pays basque espagnol poêlé, chicon braisé et sauce au vin rouge ; et une rubiconde poire cuite au vin rouge encore, crumble et sabayon au vin… blanc. // Ringo de Balmalon

POUR LA SOIF ? Les caisses et les bouteilles exposées dans l’entrée et une carte de vins vivants italiens (et français) de 50 pages disent bien que Racines est autant enoteca que trattoria. Au verre, vins du moment à 10 €, tokai de Vénétie julienne Jakot de Radikon (28 €), barolo Brea Vigna Ca’ Mia de Brovia (38 €), et bouteilles exceptionnelles. Wine pairing 35-120 €.

LES PRIX : menus 32-46 € (lunch vendredi) et 75 €, plats extra 12 et 30 €, accords mets-vins 40-50 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

Le tout premier guide Fooding Belgique !

Inédit, unique, collector, ce guide Fooding Belgique est une mine d’or de 400 adresses quadrillant la Wallonie, la Flandre et Bruxelles. Au fil des 164 pages, vous y découvrirez une flopée de nouveautés, comme le dernier bar à cidre à ne pas louper, mais aussi des institutions bien assises, dont une taverne ouverte il y a plus de 250 ans. Et avec ça, 7 articles magazine bien saucés, le tout illustré par la crème de la crème des artistes belges…

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.