restaurant

Yi Chan

Yi chan Restaurant (Brussels)

© Yi chan

  • Date
  • share

Dim sum + mixology = one big steamy heart! It’s already been seven years since Yen Pham transformed his childhood restaurant into a cocktail-driven spot frequented by shaker lovers, as well as tourists passing by the Bourse and cinema-goers from the neighboring Palace movie theater. Under the cherry blossoms hanging from above, baskets steam away, containing: the signature xiao long bao, little dumplings filled with a pork and ginger stuffing and a magical broth that squirts out from the first bite; char siu bao, plump brioche stuffed with lacquered pork; and cute little shumai with an egg-based dough and pork and shrimp stuffing. The other specialty? Slurp up phở bowls filled with rice noodles, beef meatballs and sliced rare beef, mmm mmm! Also spotted on the table across from us: a trio of grilled meats (lacquered pork, crispy pork, lacquered duck), fried pork intestines, marinated chicken legs and lo bak go (daikon radish cake). // Heloise Bartsoen

FEELING THIRSTY? Well-shaken creations, such as the Poire (gin, Williams pear eau de vie, verjus, sesame oil, €14) or the Sochu (carbonated tomato liqueur and Amontillado sherry, €14), but also the house Piju beer with yuzu and mandarin (€5.50) and iced jasmine tea (€5).
PRICE: Bao €8-10, phở €14-19, grilled meats €14-26.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The new Le Fooding France Guide is available!

Inside the latest edition, discover our top 400 restaurants, bars, wine cellars, shops and hotels from all over France that’ll be the talk of the town in 2024. Anything else? Our 16-strong list of award winners you’ll not find anywhere else, and nine articles which shine a light on the taste of the times!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Yi Chan

Restaurant Yi chan (Bruxelles)

© Yi chan

  • Date
  • partager

Dim sum + mixo = gros cœur vapeur ! Sept piges déjà que Yen Pham a transformé le resto de son enfance en table à cocktails fréquentée tant par les kiffeur·se·s du shaker que par les touristes de passage à la Bourse, et les cinévores du Palace voisin. Où, sous les fleurs de cerisier, pêcher dans des paniers fumants les xiao long bao signature, soit des raviolis emplis d’une farce porc-gingembre et d’un magique bouillon, qui jaillit dès la première bouchée ; un char siu bao, replète brioche fourrée au porc laqué ; de trognons siumai à la pâte aux œufs et farce porc-crevette… L’autre spécialité ? Les bols de phở garnis de pâtes de riz, de boulettes de bœuf et de bœuf cru et cuit, à slurper en ronronnant. Également spotté chez nos voisin·e·s de table, une triplette de rôtisserie (porc laqué, porc croustillant, canard laqué), des intestins de porc frit, des pattes de poulet marinées et un lo bak go (gâteau de radis blanc)… // Héloïse Bartsoen

POUR LA SOIF ? Des créas bien secouées, comme la Poire (gin, poire Williams, verjus, huile de sésame, 14 €) ou le Sochu (liqueur de tomate et sherry Amontillado gazéifiés, 14 €), mais aussi la bière maison Piju au yuzu et à la mandarine (5,50 €) et du thé glacé au jasmin (5 €).

LES PRIX : bao 8-10 €, phở 14-19 €, rôtisserie 14-26 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.