Best of

Champagne and pet’ nat’: our favorite wine dealers’ recommendations!

Forget about all those stuffy labels and carelessly awarded gold medals adorning so many wine bottles these days: Le Fooding is here bearing a platter of Champagne and pétillant naturel wines that you can pop open without a moment’s hesitation! This is our selection of the best bubbles on the market, chosen by the owners of ten wine shops across France.

  • Date published
  • by
    Gaëlle Vieillefon et Elisabeth Debourse
  • share

© Nicolas Kuttler

The one for Meryl Streep (and a dash of poetry)
Brindezingue rosé produced by Jean Derrien – €20

“The ghosts of a few raspberries whisper along a river of green apples coursing down your throat,” improvises Nathan Ratapu (Le Fooding’s Best Wine Dealer of 2022), who took over a record store across from the Hôtel Grand Amour and turned it into a small haven of viticulture knowledge and benevolence. “Jeannot is an honest, humble guy, his fingers are stained red and he always has a smile on his face! You could pop open one of his bottles while watching Meryl Streep in The River Wild, or while savoring a New Zealand pavlova piled high with fresh kiwi.”

Rerenga Wines – 3 rue de la Fidélité, Paris, 10th arrondissement

The one for your friends
Les Coutures, an extra-dry sparkling Chardonnay produced by Antoine Bouvet – €56

“The grapevines that produced this Chardonnay were planted in 1957 by Antoine’s grandmother. We met this young winemaker back when we visited Champagne for the first time. He took over his family vineyard ten years ago, with a hopeful vision of organic farming and agroforestry. We share his values – and many of the same friends! Speaking of which, the label was designed by Marine Philomen, who’s a close friend of ours. We can easily picture opening up this bottle to drink with a homemade kebab sandwich filled with lamb shoulder and pickled vegetables.” No sooner said than done, Antoine Kochet, the co-owner of Jaja, was getting ready to grab a kebab, some Champagne and get a tattoo that very same day!

Jaja – 5, quai Fulchiron, Lyon, 5th arrondissement

The one for operation zero
Héritage, a natural dry Pinot Meunier Champagne produced by André Heucq – €32

The world of wine can be impenetrable, but Laurent Bonfiglio knows how to please even the most demanding of customers. The golden palate of the Plus Belle La Vigne wine shop told us, “when we met Fanny Heucq, we were searching for an alternative to Maison Drappier for our low-intervention Champagnes. She stopped by the shop to buy a few bottles, and we got to talking about her family vineyard in Champagne. What we appreciated most was her father André’s approach, who abandoned conventional winemaking techniques in 2010 and started producing wine organically, even taking an interest in biodynamic agriculture. Ever since 2019, their wines have been produced with minimal intervention, and we’re impatiently awaiting their first “zero-intervention” Champagnes! Her Blanc de Meunier Champagne has rich, fruity notes, a round mouthfeel and a delightfully bitter aftertaste.”

Plus Belle La Vigne – 36, cours Julien, Marseille, 6th arrondissement

The one from year to year
A natural dry solera Champagne produced by Marie and Olivier Horiot – €60

“In solera winemaking, le sol (or “the ground”) is king!,” explains Champagne-native Timothé Toïgo, the owner of Canon Canon, a wine shop tucked in between the Rochefort-sur-Loire church and a PMU sports betting bar. The bottle in question? “It’s a blend of seven Champagne varietals, planted in 2008 on a plot of land and then aged “on the ground,” using the solera technique. It has no year to speak of, because the idea behind solera wines is to blend wines from different years, which adds complexity and freshness to the final product. I chose this bottle from original winemakers Marie and Olivier Horiot because it’s quite unique for a Champagne… It’s fresh, gourmet, complex and quite balanced, flirting with light oxidative notes. It would pair beautifully with smoked eel or fish tartare seasoned with citrus and soy sauce. And like all Champagne, it can be popped open any time of day or night!”

Canon Canon – 15, place Sainte-Croix, Rochefort-sur-Loire

The one for brushing shoulders with the divine
Entre Ciel et Terre Champagne, produced by Françoise Bedel – €52.60

Cyrille and Ji-Yun Duparcq, who are partners in both the wine shop and the eyes of the law, want everyone to drink Champagne! “This vintage produced by Françoise Bedel has wine-like qualities, with pure, mineral and saline notes, ideal for serving with a meal based around seafood. This winemaker produces Champagne in the Marne Valley, and has been using biodynamic techniques since 1999. Whatever the vintage in question, it is always intense, with lovely oxidative notes, and ages beautifully,” says the co-founder of Biovino in Lille.

Biovino – 3, place Sébastopol, Lille

The one for your wine collection
A Chardonnay pet’ nat’ produced by Jérôme Guichard – €35

“This is exactly the kind of bottle that all of us here really love,” Élie Berranger, the new sommelier at the wine & ice cream shop Folderol (Le Guide Fooding’s Best Ice Cream of 2022) and the restaurant Le Rigmarole confides in us. “Jérôme Guichard is a winemaker in Mâcon who took over the legendary Guy Blanchard’s vineyard. He produces complex wines, using grapevines that are sixty years old! And he never compromises: all of his wines are 100% natural, and masterfully produced. This pet’ nat’ is a single-varietal wine, with a hint of oxidation, and has great aging potential. I would probably drink it with veal sweetbreads, to wake up my taste buds!”

Folderol – 10, rue du Grand-Prieuré, Paris, 11th arrondissement

The forgotten one
A natural Mauzac pet’ net’ from the Domaine Plageoles – €17.50

In their supernatural wine shop in Grenoble, the Aubéry-Laurent family (Michèle, who runs the Domaine Gramenon, and her children Maxime-François, Agnès and Alix) only sell wines produced by friends! “With this bottle of natural Mauzac, the Plageoles family is highlighting an indigenous Gaillac grape variety. Their work and commitment to responsible agriculture has led to a renaissance of wines from the region and is quite commendable: they were able to revive forgotten grape varieties like Prunelart, Dura, Ondenc, Verdanel, and, of course, Mauzac… This pet’ nat’, which strikes a remarkable balance between fruity notes and freshness, works equally well as a pre-dinner drink or paired with a fruity dessert,” suggests Alix.

Gramenon et Compagnie – 15 bis, rue Lakanal, Grenoble

The one for the day after
Mehr Frauen? Ja Bitte! produced by Lagamba – €18

“My recommendation? Definitely Mehr Frauen? Ja bitte!, a sparkling rosé from Lagamba,” says Victor Dos Santos, the owner of Quillosque, the little brother to the lovely bistro Le Saint Eutrope in Clermont-Ferrand. “It’s a sparkling blend of Dornfelder, Pinot noir and Pinot blanc that goes down easy. I would even suggest drinking it at breakfast on Christmas morning, with a warm croissant or maybe even some smoked salmon and scrambled eggs! It was produced by a young Canadian expat living in Germany. It’s a lively and energetic wine, much like the winemaker herself!”

Le Quillosque – 4, rue Saint-Eutrope, Clermont-Ferrand

The one for special occasions
A Muscat pet’ nat’ from the Domaine Plaisance Penavayre – €14.90

Oenophile Hubert Lauriot Dit Prevost, who runs the Retour Verre le Futur wine shop in Biarritz, declared their true love for this bottle of Black Muscat sparkling wine: “I love its onion-skin-pink color, its aromatic nose with hints of litchi and white peach, along with its lively and acidic side, its small bubbles and overall lightness… and best of all, its price! The vineyard is located in the commune of Vacquiers, north of Toulouse, and run by Marc Penavayre and his son Thibault. They switched to organic agriculture in 2011 and have been applying biodynamic principles for five years now. It’s a party wine, that’s for sure! But it pairs marvelously with red curry shrimp as well.”

Retour Verre le Futur – 91, avenue de la Marne, Biarritz

The one for clockwork orange nights
Pet’ O Cask produced by André Kleinknecht – €14.80

Running the wine shop Au Fil du Vin Libre, which keeps the people of Strasbourg’s thirst quenched, Jean Roch discreetly hands us “the Pet’ O Cask produced by André Kleinknecht, whose vineyard is located in Mittelbergheim in the Bas-Rhin department of eastern France. It’s an orange-wine-style sparkling wine, with low tannins, notes of citrus and a good dose of acidity. It’s perfect for an apéro or to take your cheese course to the next level!” A hidden gem for the over-the-top holiday season and the frenzied Christmas market…

Au Fil du Vin Libre – 26, quai des Bateliers, Strasbourg

 

  • share

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

La crème de la crème

Champagnes et pet’ nat’ : la sélection de nos cavistes préf’ !

Oubliez les étiquettes guindées et les médailles vite distribuées : le Fooding vous sert sur un plateau les champagnes et pet’ nat’ à sabrer les yeux fermés, histoire de bien se faire mousser ! Une compil des meilleures bulles sur le marché, sélectionnées par dix cavistes à travers l’Hexagone.

  • Date de publication
  • par
    Gaëlle Vieillefon et Elisabeth Debourse
  • partager

© Nicolas Kuttler

Le choix de Meryl Streep (et de la poésie)
Rosé Brindezingue par Jean Derrien – 20 €

« Quelques fantômes de framboises chuchotent au bord d’un fleuve de pommes vertes descendant la course de ta bouche », improvise Nathan Ratapu (Meilleur caviste Guide 2022), qui a repris l’ancien disquaire face à l’Hôtel Grand Amour pour le transfigurer en petit havre de bienveillance viticole. « Jeannot, c’est un gars honnête et modeste, aux doigts rouges et au sourire perpétuel ! Sa bouteille, on la débouchonne pour accompagner La Rivière sauvage avec Meryl Streep, ou une pavlova néo-zélandaise avec beaucoup de kiwis. »
Rerenga Wines – 3, rue de la Fidélité, Paris 10e

Le choix des copains
Chardonnay Les Coutures extra-brut par Antoine Bouvet – 56 €

« Les vignes de ce chardonnay ont été plantées en 1957 par la grand-mère d’Antoine. C’est un jeune vigneron qu’on a rencontré quand on a visité la Champagne pour la première fois. Il a repris le domaine familial il y a dix ans maintenant, avec une belle vision de l’agriculture biologique et de l’agroforesterie. On partage ses valeurs – et plusieurs copains ! Pour la petite histoire, l’étiquette a été réalisée par Marine Philomen, une super amie. On voit bien cette bouteille avec un kebab maison à base d’épaule d’agneau et de pickles de légumes. » Aussitôt dit, aussitôt fait : ce jour-là, Antoine Kochen, le co-taulier de Jaja, s’apprêtait à donner le coup d’envoi d’une sauterie kebab, champagne et tatouages !
Jaja – 5, quai Fulchiron, Lyon 5e

Le choix du zéro
Pinot-meunier Héritage brut nature par André Heucq – 32 €

Les voies du vin sont impénétrables, mais il sait faire son chemin jusqu’aux gosiers les plus exigeants. Laurent Bonfiglio, le palais d’or de la cave Plus belle la vigne, raconte : « À l’époque où on a rencontré Fanny Heucq, on cherchait une alternative à la Maison Drappier pour nos champagnes sans soufre. Elle est passée à la cave acheter deux ou trois quilles, et nous a parlé du vignoble familial en Champagne. Ce qui nous a plu, c’est le parcours d’André, son père, qui a abandonné la culture conventionnelle des vignes en 2010 pour passer en bio et s’intéresser à la biodynamie. Depuis 2019, les vinif’ sont sans intrants, on attend donc avec impatience les premiers champagnes en « zéro » ! Son blanc de meunier a un nez sur le fruit, gourmand, et en bouche, de la rondeur et une finale marquée par de jolis amers. »
Plus belle la vigne – 36, cours Julien, Marseille 6e

Le choix d’année en année
Solera brut nature par Marie et Olivier Horiot – 60 €

« En solera, le sol est roi ! » résume le Champenois Timothé Toïgo, taulier de Canon Canon, une cave buissonnière coincée entre l’église de Rochefort-sur-Loire et un PMU. La cuvée en question ? « Un assemblage de sept cépages de Champagne, plantés en 2008 sur une parcelle puis élevés en réserve perpétuelle. Il n’y a pas de millésime puisque le principe de la solera est d’assembler des vins de différentes années, ce qui apporte de la complexité et de la fraîcheur. J’ai choisi cette cuvée engagée de Marie et Olivier Horiot parce que ce n’est pas un champagne comme les autres… Il est frais, gourmand, complexe et très équilibré, flirtant avec de légères notes oxydatives. On peut s’éclater en l’accordant avec de l’anguille fumée ou un tartare de poisson avec des agrumes et de la sauce soja. Et comme tout champagne, il se déguste à toute heure ! »
Canon Canon – 15, pl. Sainte-Croix, Rochefort-sur-Loire

Le choix (quasi) divin
Entre Ciel et Terre, par Françoise Bedel – 52,60 €

Pour Cyrille et Ji-Yun Duparcq, en couple à la cave comme à la ville, c’est champ’ pour tout le monde ! « Cette cuvée de Françoise Bedel est à la fois vineuse et verticale, sur une trame pure, minérale et saline, idéale pour accompagner un menu à base de poisson et fruits de mer. Cette vigneronne produit des champagnes dans la vallée de la Marne, cultivés en biodynamie depuis 1999. Quelles que soient les cuvées, ils sont toujours intenses, avec de jolies notes oxydatives, et vieillissent parfaitement bien », livre le cofondateur de Biovino à Lille.
Biovino – 3, pl. Sébastopol, Lille

Le choix de garde
Chardonnay Pet’ nat’ par Jérôme Guichard – 35 €

« C’est le genre de bouteille qu’on aime tous ici », assure Élie Berranger, le nouveau sommelier de la cave-glacier Folderol (Meilleur glace Guide 2022) et de la table Le Rigmarole. « Jérôme Guichard est un vigneron du Mâconnais qui a repris les vignes du légendaire Guy Blanchard. Il produit des vins complexes, à partir de vignes d’une soixantaine d’années ! Avec lui, il n’y a pas de concession : c’est du 100 % nature, avec une maîtrise incroyable. Ce pet’ nat’ en monocépage, avec une pointe d’oxydation, a un beau potentiel de garde. Je le boirais bien avec du ris de veau, pour réveiller les papilles ! »
Folderol – 10, rue du Grand-Prieuré, 75011 Paris

Le choix oublié, puis retrouvé
Mauzac Nature par le Domaine Plageoles – 17,50 €

Dans sa cave à jajas surnaturels à Grenoble, la smala Aubéry-Laurent (Michèle, boss du Domaine Gramenon, et ses enfants Maxime-François, Agnès et Alix) ne propose que des vins de copains ! « Avec cette cuvée Mauzac Nature, la famille Plageoles met en avant un cépage autochtone gaillacois. Leur travail et leur responsabilité dans le renouveau des vins de la région est à saluer : ils ont su faire renaître des cépages oubliés comme le prunelart, le duras, l’ondenc, le verdanel et, bien sûr, le mauzac… Ce pet’ nat’, remarquablement équilibré entre fruit et fraîcheur, se boit aussi bien à l’apéro qu’avec un dessert bien fruité », conseille Alix.
Gramenon et Compagnie – 15 bis, rue Lakanal, Grenoble

Le choix du lendemain
Mehr Frauen? Ja Bitte! par Lagamba – 18 €

« Ma reco ? Définitivement le Mehr Frauen? Ja bitte!, un rosé de Lagamba », assure Victor Dos Santos, le caviste du Quillosque, petit frère du génialissime bistrot Le Saint Eutrope à Clermont. « Un pétillant à base de dornfelder, pinot-noir et pinot-blanc, tellement facile à boire que je le conseillerais même avec le petit-déjeuner de Noël, accompagné d’un croissant chaud ou encore de saumon fumé et d’œufs brouillés ! Il est vinifié par une jeune Canadienne en Allemagne. C’est une quille vive et pleine d’énergie, comme elle ! »
Le Quillosque – 4, rue Saint-Eutrope, Clermont-Ferrand

Le choix aux petits oignons
Muscat PetNat par le Domaine Plaisance Penavayre – 14,90 €

Une vraie déclaration d’amour du jajaphile Hubert Lauriot Dit Prevost, taulier de la cave Retour Verre le Futur à Biarritz, pour cette quille de muscat de Hambourg : « J’aime sa couleur rose comme une pelure d’oignon, son nez aromatique ambiance litchi et pêche blanche, mais aussi son côté vif et acidulé, ses fines bulles et sa légèreté… et surtout son prix ! Le domaine est situé dans la commune de Vacquiers, au nord de Toulouse, et dirigé par Marc Penavayre et son fils Thibault. Ils se sont convertis à l’agriculture biologique en 2011 et appliquent les principes de la biodynamie depuis cinq ans maintenant. C’est un vin de fête, ça c’est sûr ! Mais il s’accorde aussi à merveille avec un curry rouge aux crevettes. »
Retour Verre le Futur – 91, av. de la Marne, Biarritz

Le choix roulant des (oranges) mécaniques
Pet’ O Cask par André Kleinknecht – 14,80 €

Boss de la cave Au Fil du Vin Libre, qui abreuve les Strasbourgeois·es ne sachant où donner de la soif, Jean Roch nous refile sous le manteau « le Pet’ O Cask d’André Kleinknecht, situé à Mittelbergheim dans le Bas-Rhin. Une bulle de macération façon vin orange, avec de légers tanins, des arômes d’agrumes et une belle acidité. Il est parfait à l’apéro ou pour sublimer le fromage en fin de repas ! ». Une réf’ refourguée entre la préparation de fêtes survoltées et un marché de Noël endiablé…
Au Fil du Vin Libre – 26, quai des Bateliers, Strasbourg

  • partager

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.