restaurant

Auberge de Boffres

© Auberge de Boffres

  • Date
  • share

Nature is like jam: the more you have, the better it tastes! The proof can be found sevenfold in this former village train station hotel, given a fabulous makeover by Arthur Jarreau, Marion Meurnier, Corentin Vincent, Ludovic Camba, chefs Mario Sultan and Lucie Vailler (all of whom used to work at Bieristan in Villeurbanne), and chef Thomas Brunol (ex-Ravigote and Têtedoie in Lyon and Radicelle in Annonay), who share a dedication to local and sustainable practices. Auberge de Boffres wears many hats: it’s a cool, organic restaurant, natural wine shop, fine foods shop, rural co-working space, post office and soon-to-be bed & breakfast all at once, and it’s rekindling the embers of locavore cuisine! Straight from the wood-fired kitchen the day we went for lunch: plump potato cream topped with a chard and smoked lardon salad; chunky roasted beets with fresh goat cheese, mizuna shoots, oyster mushrooms and pickled red meat radishes; pork loin from pigs raised ethically by Monsieur Boyrel, paired with golden ball turnips, spinach and crushed hazelnuts, all simmered in a miso-infused jus de volaille; before a roasted pear paired with an incredible salted caramel and miso streusel. We recommend returning on a Sunday evening for pizza at the former covered market that has been transformed into the Auberge’s personal terrace, with spectacular views of the valley below. // Irma Trochet

FEELING THIRSTY? There’s ultra-natural wine from their terroir-centric collection: a Rhone white from the Domaine de Lumian (€2.50 a glass), a Tarn white from the young Grégoire Aubrun (€23 a bottle) and a red blend from Laurent Battist (€21), which you can grab directly from the cellar. Unless you’d rather something with a bit more of a frothy foam, like a blonde ale on tap from La Machine (€2.80 for a half-pint) or a passion fruit Berliner Weisse from the neighboring Haarddrëch brewery (€6.50 for 330 ml). 
PRICE: Set menus €15-19, sandwiches starting at €5 (weekdays at lunch), tapas starting at €5 (weeknights at dinner), à la carte €27.50 to €31.50 (Saturday and Sunday at lunch), pizzas €12 (€10 to go on Sunday nights). 

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Auberge de Boffres

Plus bio la vie !

© Auberge de Boffres

  • Date
  • partager

La nature, c’est comme la confiture : plus on en a, meilleur ça goûte ! La preuve par sept dans cet ancien hôtel de gare villageois, fameusement retapé par les court-circuiteurs coopératifs Arthur Jarreau, Marion Meurnier, Corentin Vincent, Ludovic Camba, les cuistots Mario Sultan et Lucie Vailler (tou·te·s passé·e·s par le Bieristan à Villeurbanne), et le chef Thomas Brunol (ex-Ravigote et Têtedoie à Lyon et Radicelle à Annonay). À la fois table biocool, cave naturopathe, épicerie propre, cowork’ paysan, relais de poste et bientôt chambre d’hôte, l’Auberge de Boffres rallume les braises de la popote localiste avec ardeur ! En direct de la cuisine au feu de bois ce midi-là : douillette crème de PDT chapeautée d’une salade de blettes aux lardons fumés ; ou gros morceaux de betterave rôtie, avec chèvre frais, pousses de mizuna, pleurotes et radis red meat pickelisés ; mignon filet de porc bien élevé par monsieur Boyrel, flanqué d’un navet boule d’or taillé, d’épinards tombés et de noisettes concassées, le tout pataugeant dans un jus de volaille au miso ; avant une poire rôtie piquetée d’un terrible streusel au caramel beurre salé et miso. Le petit kif en plus ? Revenir le dimanche soir pour choper sa pizz’ sur l’ancien marché couvert devenu la terrasse de l’auberge, avec vue spectaculaire sur la vallée. // Irma Trochet

POUR LA SOIF ? Le nat’ plus ultra de la cave terroiriste : blanc rhodanien du Domaine de Lumian (2,50 € le verre), blanc du Tarn par le jeune Grégoire Aubrun (23 € la bouteille) et rouge en assemblage de Laurent Battist (21 €), à piocher directement dans la cave. À moins de se faire mousser avec une blonde à la pression La Machine (2,80 € le demi) ou une Berliner Weisse passion de la brasserie voisine Haarddrëch (6,50 € les 33 cl).

LES PRIX : formules 15-19 €, sandwich à partir de 5 € (midi en semaine), tapas à partir de 5 € (soir en semaine), carte 27,50 à 31,50 € samedi et dimanche midi), pizzas 12 € (10 € à emporter, dimanche soir).

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide papier et numérique des restaurants, chef·fe·s, bars, chambres d’hôte et hôtels de style qui font le « goût de l’époque », un palmarès annuel des nouvelles adresses partout en France, un outil de réservation de super bistrots, des événements gastronomiques, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus… Tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.