restaurant

Bèou Bistrot

Restaurant Bèou Bistrot (Avignon)

© Jeremy Tassan

  • Date
  • share

You’ll want to watch the dishes dance under the eternal sunshine of Provence all day long at this Bèoutiful bistro run by Marie Petit-Doux (ex-Café du Rhône in Lyon and Barbiche in Paris), who has brought a little cheer to her grandfather’s old home, flanked by a formidable terrace under the shade of the magnolia and bay trees. Inside, you’ll find two dining rooms and two different atmospheres: the small one has a fireplace; the other is decked out with lush murals, making it feel like a second garden. And on the plates, prepared by a synchronized trio – Raphaël Combe (ex-Domaine de la Petite Isle),Théo Caron (ex-Coretta in Paris) and Faraz Mirzai (ex-Divigne) –, were all of the following: stunning zucchini beignets with a yogurt and smoked paprika dipping sauce; a perilous stack of tender sage-infused potatoes, perfectly cooked veal belly, silky coco de Paimpol beans and sprouts drizzled in kale oil; and a gigantic chocolate-hazelnut cake served with roasted figs that were unfortunately a little too soft. At night, the lunch menu gives way to some inevitable shared plates: Ardèche trout gravlax, Tarn ham cured for 12 months, sardines in oil from La Conserverie Le Fleuré… // Raoul Taburin 

FEELING THIRSTY? Loco local, organic or even natural wines, like the Rhone red from Le Clos du Caillou (€5 a glass), and even better, a dozen cocktails (€8-12), shaken up by Mickaël Pradier – like a nicely balanced Amaretto Sour. 
PRICE: À la carte €31-34, small plates €8-12. 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Bèou Bistrot

Restaurant Bèou Bistrot (Avignon)

© Jeremy Tassan

  • Date
  • partager

Comme une soif de faire guincher les assiettes sous un éternel soleil… Bèou ? Dans le canon bistrot de Marie Petit-Doux (ex-Café du Rhône à Lyon et Barbiche à Paris), qui a ripoliné l’ancienne maison de son grand-père, flanquée d’une formidable terrasse à l’ombre du magnolia et des lauriers. À l’intérieur ? Deux salles, deux ambiances : l’une, petite, avec cheminée ; l’autre, coloriée de fresques, comme un second jardin. Et dans les assiettes, le fruit du travail d’une jolie clique composée de Raphaël Combe (ex-Domaine de la Petite Isle), de Théo Caron (ex-Coretta à Paris) et de Faraz Mirzai (ex-Divigne) : émoustillants beignets de courgette, à mouiller de yaourt au paprika fumé ; périlleuse superposition de PDT fondantes à la sauge, poitrine de veau à la cuisson de compète, soyeuse purée de cocos, pousses et huile verte de kale ; et maous gâteau choco-noisettes accompagné de figues rôties – hélas un peu mollassonnes. Le soir, la carte fait place aux inévitables assiettes à partager : gravlax de truite d’Ardèche, jambon du Tarn 12 mois, sardines à l’huile de la conserverie Le Fleuré… // Raoul Taburin  

POUR LA SOIF ? Du loco-local bio voire vivant, comme ce rouge rhodanien du Clos du Caillou (5 € le verre), mais surtout une dizaine de cocktails (8-12 €) shakés par Mickaël Pradier – à l’image de cet Amaretto Sour bien balancé. 

LES PRIX : carte 31-34 €, tapassiettes 8-12 €. 

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.