restaurant

Première édition

Restaurant Première édition (Avignon)

© Première édition

  • Date
  • share

Things are changing in the medieval city of Avignon! Aurélie and Jonathan Thomassin have converted a local institution (L’Ami Voyage, a former bookstore/restaurant that was also the first printing press for Actes Sud editions) into an intriguing sandwich shop: a waxed concrete bar, Japanese-inspired lighting, skateboards hung on the walls… At lunch, Aurélie sends out homemade pita bread sandwiches filled with carefully sourced ingredients, like the one with marinated shredded chicken from the Champ du Coq farm, mayonnaise and barbecued lemon, which was the hit of the summer. Once night falls, make way for tantalizing small plates: light zucchini blossom beignets stuffed with brousse cheese and sumac, plus green gazpacho (Green Zebra tomatoes, melon, zucchini) with just the right amount of vinegar; lovely chicken thigh cooked in a press, with tender meat and crispy skin, drizzled in a tarragon, marigold and mandarin orange jus, with smashed potatoes; and a comforting s’more dessert made with homemade barbecued marshmallow in between two tuile cookies, all sprinkled with shaved dark chocolate and toasted buckwheat. // Raoul Taburin 

FEELING THIRSTY? A simplistic and unfussy selection with a few local wines (a Cairanne white from the Domaine Brusset at €6 a glass, a biodynamic red from the Domaine des Maravilhas for €27 a bottle) and Leamo sodas (€4). 
PRICE: Pita sandwiches €13-16 (lunch), small plates €11-20, cheese €11, desserts €5-10 (dinner). 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Première édition

Restaurant Première édition (Avignon)

© Première édition

  • Date
  • partager

Attention, entrepains sur le pont ! À Avignon, Aurélie et Jonathan Thomassin ont converti une ancienne institution du coin (L’Ami Voyage, librairie-restaurant qui fut aussi l’imprimerie des premiers tirages d’Actes Sud) en popoterie qui a du chien : comptoir en béton lissé, suspensions japonisantes, skates accrochés aux murs… Pour le déjeuner, Aurélie balance des casse-dalles à base de pita maison et d’ingrédients soigneusement sourcés, comme ce poulet de la ferme du Champ du Coq mariné, effiloché et pimpé de mayo et citron barbecuté, qui a fait parler les festivalier·ère·s tout l’été. Le soir, place à des boulottages qui valent le voyage : légers beignets de fleurs de courgette fourrés de brousse au sumac, et gaspacho vert (tomate Green Zebra, melon, courgette) parfaitement vinaigré ; épatant haut de cuisse cuit sous presse, chair fondante et peau croustillante, arrosée d’un jus estragon / tagète / mandarine, avec des PDT smashées ; et junkesque s’more, une guimauve maison grillée au BBQ et prise en sandwich entre deux tuiles, le tout saupoudré d’éclats de chocolat noir et de graines de sarrasin toastées. // Raoul Taburin

POUR LA SOIF ? Une carte simpl(ist)e en mode buvette, avec quelques vins locaux (cairanne blanc du Domaine Brusset à 6 € le verre, rouge biodynamique du Domaine des Maravilhas à 27 € la bouteille) et des sodas Leamo (4 €).

LES PRIX : pitas garnies 13-16 € (midi), petites assiettes 11-20 €, fromage 11 €, desserts 5-10 € (soir).

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.