restaurant

Bistrot Mentin

Bistrot Mentin Restaurant in Liège

© Christine Doublet

  • Date
  • share

Timeless star-patterned tiles, street photography lining the brick walls, cool little knick-knacks scattered about… Located down an equally adorable side street, Bistrot Mentin is a cute little joint which reminds all the haters that Liege is without a doubt the Mosan capital of unfussy, well-made eats. As an ambassador of the genre, the unfazed boss Marie Corthouts (aka Mama Lova Lova) sure knows her shizz, as she singlehandedly works the show. Earning our affection, she sends out a short menu that changes every week: a soup, a sandwich, a pasta dish, a few desserts made by her mother Bernadette, and basta! Lunch that day featured: a flawless sammie with Savoy cabbage, ‘nduja, taggiasche olives and lemony mascarpone; delicious maccheroni gooey with parmesan and stracchino (a fresh cheese from Lombardy), plus sage and nutmeg; and a caffeinated affogato to wrap things up. After lunch, Marie packs away the pots and pans, and goes into bar mode with a drinks menu that’s as generous as she. One for the diary: make sure to reserve your spot for the special Monday evening set menu, hosted exclusively once a month…//

FEELING THIRSTY? Clean wines (a German riesling from Jérôme Manguette and Urs Dublicki at Vins Pentus, €6 a glass), punchy ciders from Atelier Constant-Berger (€5 a glass), old-school digestifs and gueuze beers from Brasserie Cantillon (€25-30 for 750 ml), sipped at the bar by friends passing by.

PRICE:
Sandwiches €7-9, pasta dish €12-17, soup €6 (with bread and butter), dessert €4.50, Monday evening set menu €38-45 (four courses).

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Bistrot Mentin

Restaurant Bistrot Mentin à Liège

© Christine Doublet

  • Date
  • partager

Carrelage à étoiles sans âge, street photo sur mur briqué, beaux bibelots à gogo… Coquet troquet sis dans une ruelle à la même échelle, le Bistrot Mentin rappelle surtout à qui en douterait que Liège mérite le titre de capitale mosane de la bonne franquette. Avec, en ambassadrice du genre à la coule, la taulière Marie Corthouts (alias Mama Lova Lova), qui produit un seule-en-salle sans pression forçant l’affection. Et envoie une courte carte qui change chaque semaine : une soupe, un sandwich, une pasta, quelques desserts de sa maman Bernadette, et basta ! Ce midi-là : impec entrepain au chou de Savoie, à la ‘nduja, aux olives Taggiasche et au mascarpone citronné ; plâtrée de maccheroni au parmesan bien goulue, avec stracchino (fromage frais lombard), sauge et muscade ; et affogato pour tasser-caféiner le tout. Après le lunch, Marie remballe les casseroles et fait buvette avec une carte de liquides aussi généreuse qu’elle. L’autre bon bail : réserver son rond de serviette pour le menu unique du lundi soir, dispensé une fois par mois… // Jessica Fletcher

POUR LA SOIF ? Des pinards propres (riesling allemand par Jérôme Manguette et Urs Dublicki des Vins Pentus à 6 € le verre), cidres ardents de l’Atelier Constant-Berger (5 € le verre), digeos d’antan et gueuzes de la Brasserie Cantillon (25-30 € les 75 cl), sirotés sur le zinc par les copains qui passent en flux tendu.

LES PRIX : sandwichs 7-9 €, pâtes 12-17 €, soupe 6 € (avec pain et beurre), dessert 4,50 €, menu du lundi soir 38-45 € (4 services).

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.