restaurant

Boris & Maurice

Boris & Maurice Restaurant (Ghent)

© Karmen Ayvazyan

  • Date
  • share

Who are Boris and Maurice? They’re the two owners of this radiant, French-inspired bistro (Thonet-style chairs, a cream-colored counter, globe lighting), who have made their mark just a stone’s throw from the cemetery. As for their roles, it’s pretty clear cut: Boris (Mahy) plays in the kitchen, while Maurice (Van Damme) juggles the bottles. The last time we went, we ordered all of the following à la carte: pumpkin croquettes dipped in a creamy paprika aioli; extremely fresh sea bream crudo with a tangy preserved lemon vinaigrette for added zing; tasty vitello tonnato blushing alongside some slow-roasted beetroot; perfectly cooked Atlantic cod doused in beurre blanc sauce, leeks and herring roe; delicious lamb noisette with a full-bodied jus, served with spring carrots and savoy cabbage stoemp (mash); before a decent vin jaune crème brûlée. // Anita Kane

FEELING THIRSTY? A wine list with an eye towards the Loire: a Touraine Sauvignon from Isabelle and Xavier Frissant (€6 a glass), Prémices, a white Jasnières from the Domaine de Bellivière (€54 a bottle), Montée des Roches, a Saumur-Champigny from Arnaud Lambert (39 €).
PRICE: Menu €25 (lunch), à la carte €48-56 (dinner).

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The new Le Fooding France Guide is available!

Inside the latest edition, discover our top 400 restaurants, bars, wine cellars, shops and hotels from all over France that’ll be the talk of the town in 2024. Anything else? Our 16-strong list of award winners you’ll not find anywhere else, and nine articles which shine a light on the taste of the times!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Boris & Maurice

Restaurant Boris & Maurice (Gand)

© Karmen Ayvazyan

  • Date
  • partager

Boris et Maurice ? Les deux tauliers de ce radieux bistrot d’inspi frenchy (chaises typées Thonet, comptoir crème, luminaires globes), qui ont fait leur trou à deux pas du cimetière. Chez eux, tout est limpide : Boris (Mahy) batifole en cuisine, pendant que Maurice (Van Damme) sommelise à tout-va. Dans nos assiettes, la dernière fois à la carte : croquettes de potiron à plonger dans un onctueux aïoli au paprika ; fraîchissime crudo de dorade dopé par une vinaigrette acidulée au citron confit ; savoureux vitello tonnato rougissant aux côtés d’une betterave rôtie lentement ; parfait skrei nappé de beurre blanc, poireaux et œufs de hareng ; jouissive noisette d’agneau au jus corsé, escortée de carottes nouvelles et stoemp au chou de Milan ; avant une honnête crème brûlée au vin jaune. // Anita Kane

POUR LA SOIF ? Une carte vinale lorgnant vers la Loire : sauvignon de Touraine d’Isabelle et Xavier Frissant (6 € le verre), jasnières blanc Prémices du Domaine de Bellivière (54 € la bouteille), saumur-champigny Montée des Roches d’Arnaud Lambert (39 €).

LES PRIX : menu 25 € (midi), carte 48-56 € (soir).

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

Le guide Fooding 2024
est sorti !

Restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres : les 400 adresses qui vont faire 2024 partout en France sont à retrouver dans cette édition inédite. Avec ça ? Un palmarès de 16 spots pas-vus-partout, et 9 articles mag qui décortiquent l’imagerie de la food contemporaine.

Disponible en kiosque, dans toutes les (bonnes) librairies et sur notre e-shop.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.