restaurant

Commotie

Commotie Restaurant (Ghent)

© Pieter D'Hoop

  • Date
  • share

Got a kink for food and a fetish for highway stops? Then, listen up: come get a lashing’s full at Commotie! Located along the N70, chef Thomas Gellynck and sommelier Lara De Vlieger’s plush villa is a Magritian dream for fire-loving aesthetes, with its captivating kitchen show staged around the roaring flames. The unforgettable surprise menu featured: a fresh and punchy Zeeland flat oyster shaken up with sour cream and soy sauce pearls; a trompe-l’oeil of smoky cabbage stuffed with pas-de-rouge cheese – enough to render Cédric Grolet, the star pastry chef at Le Meurice, speechless; a joyful orgy of pâté, ragout and beet juice, with a lustful cured egg yolk also getting in on the action; sublime monkfish cured in charcoal butter and a huge bunch of dill, moistened with a creamy fish bone broth, met grilled asparagus and a fermented jus; scrumptious herby mashed potatoes with lardo di Colonnata, pushing the vice even further with a buttermilk foam and Imperial Heritage Belgian caviar, chased by a shot of Dada Chapel vodka and nutmeg; zero-waste lamb kebab with pickled cime di rapa and shallots on a mini yogurt flatbread – and a hearty dusting of grated dried lamb’s heart as an added bonus; lamb chop dry-aged for two weeks, adorned with wild garlic béarnaise, salsify and olive powder; before a Conference pear tartare served with a comforting oatmeal ice cream. Sounds a bit pretentious, right? Wrong! The disco-house playlist and sincerely attentive staff quickly loosen you up – the important thing is that you get your kicks! // Rosa Poulsard

FEELING THIRSTY? Lara’s menu mixes Californian, Slovenian, Austrian, Spanish and French wines, like the Austrian Pinot noir from Claus Preisinger (€90 a bottle) or the white Beaujolais from Descombes (€65).

PRICE: Tasting menu €95 + signature dish with caviar €25, food and wine pairings €65, BOB €35, non-alcoholic pairings €55.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Commotie

Restaurant Commotie (Gand)

© Pieter D'Hoop

  • Date
  • partager

Avis aux kinky grailleur·se·s et fétichistes des nationales : qu’il est bon de se prendre une claque à Commotie ! Plantée le long de la N70, la cossue villa du chef Thomas Gellynck et de la sommelière Lara De Vlieger est un rêve magritien pour esthètes tout-feu-tout-flamme, avec sa subjuguante cuisine-spectacle organisée autour d’un brasier. Inoubliables, dans l’ébouriffant menu unique : uppercutante huître plate de Zélande, secouée de crème aigre et perles de sauce soja ; charbonneux choux trompe-l’œil farcis au pas-de-rouge – à faire pâlir Cédric Grolet, le pâtistar du Meurice ; jouissive partouze de pâté, ragoût et jus de betterave, et lubrique jaune d’œuf confit en spécial guest ; sublime lotte maturée dans un énorme bouquet d’aneth et du beurre au charbon, mouillant dans un bouillon d’os de poisson crémé, met asperge grillée et jus fermenté ; crapuleuse purée de PDT, d’herbes et de lardo, poussant encore le vice avec une écume de lait ribot et du caviar belge Imperial Heritage, le tout escorté d’un shot de vodka Dada Chapel et noix de muscade ; antigaspi kebabeke d’agneau, à poser avec des pickles de cime di rapa et d’échalote sur un mini-flatbread au yaourt – et, en bonus, une belle râpée de cœur d’agneau séché ; côtelette d’agneau maturée deux semaines, enjolivée de béarnaise à l’ail des ours, salsifis et poudre d’olives ; avant un tartare de poire conférence flanqué d’une câline glace à l’avoine. Un repaire à cul-serrés, vous demandez ? Que nenni ! la playlist disco-house et le service sincèrement attentionné ont vite fait de décoincer – l’important, c’est de (se) faire kiffer ! // Rosa Poulsard

POUR LA SOIF ? La carte de Lara mêle pinards californiens, slovènes, autrichiens, espagnols et français, comme ce pinot noir autrichien de Claus Preisinger (90 € la bouteille) ou ce beaujo blanc de Descombes (65 €)…

LES PRIX : menu 95 € + plat signature au caviar 25 €, accords mets-vins 65 €, BOB 35 €, sans alcool 55 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

Le guide Fooding 2024
est sorti !

Restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres : les 400 adresses qui vont faire 2024 partout en France sont à retrouver dans cette édition inédite. Avec ça ? Un palmarès de 16 spots pas-vus-partout, et 9 articles mag qui décortiquent l’imagerie de la food contemporaine.

Disponible en kiosque, dans toutes les (bonnes) librairies et sur notre e-shop.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.