restaurant

Jamat

Retaurant Jamat (Paris)

© Gaëlle Pitrel

  • Date
  • share

Everything is good here! From the fats to the wines, two major merits of this place written out on the marbled façade of Jamat. What does the name mean, you ask? It’s the couple name of the duo running things, aka Jacinthe Vandendriessche (who used to work in HR, then as a sports facilitator) and Matthieu Sales (ex-Les Arlots and La Cuisinière Lyonnaise). Old tomette tile floors, a wall covered in chili red tiles and tavern furniture set the tone for Matthieu’s flamboyant bistro cuisine. Gobbled up the night we went: fiery braised asparagus paired with sauce gribiche and capers; perfectly fried spicy panisses, intensified by chipotle mayo; tantalizing grilled octopus, smoking hot under a quilt of hummus, speck and bonito flakes; or even some herbaceous veal kefta with roasted carrots and fennel on the side. Still got room for more? Try one of the house desserts, like a plump strawberry-rhubarb pavlova with cacao whipped cream. // Cléo Tangerine

FEELING THIRSTY? Jacinthe has plenty of bottles of wine to choose from, which are always organic or natural: a Cadurcienne orange wine from Fabien Jouves (€8 a glass), a Gamay from Kéké Descombes (€36 a bottle), a Saumur white from the Domaine de la Paleine (€33)…
PRICE: Appetizers €6-12, mains €18-26, desserts €9-10.

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Jamat

Jajacques a dit, bistrotez ici !

Retaurant Jamat (Paris)

© Gaëlle Pitrel

  • Date
  • partager

Tout est bon dans ce cafeton ! Le gras comme le jaja, deux qualités distinctement affichées sur la devanture marbrée de Jamat. Le nom ? Une fusion de ceux du couple aux manettes, Jacinthe Vandendriessche (anciennement dans les RH, puis animatrice sportive) et Matthieu Sales (ex-Les Arlots et La Cuisinière Lyonnaise). Les tomettes anciennes, le mur carrelé rouge piment et le mobilier d’estaminet donnent le ton d’une flamboyante cuisine bistrotière, où Matthieu matadore les matières. Avalés ce soir-là : de brûlantes asperges braisées, acoquinées avec une sauce gribiche et des câpres ; des panisses épicées frites à point, mises à feu par une mayo chipotle ; un lubrique poulpe grillé, fumant sous une couette de houmous, speck et copeaux de bonite ; ou encore un kefta de veau herbophile, flanqué de fenouil et carottes rôties. Encore de la place ? C’est le moment où Jamat de tester le dessert : une rondelette pavlova fraise-rhubarbe avec chantilly cacao. // Cléo Tangerine

POUR LA SOIF ? Jacinthe jongle avec un max de canons, toujours bio ou nature : macé’ cadurcienne signée Fabie Jouves (8 € le verre), gamay de Kéké Descombes (36 € la bouteille), saumur blanc du Domaine de la Paleine (33 €)…

LES PRIX : entrées 6-12 €, plats 18-26 €, dessert 9-10 €.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.