restaurant

Kruidtuin

Kruidtuin restaurant (Ghent)

© Downtown Magazine

  • Date
  • share

Relax and take a deep breath: Toon Deseyne comes in peace. At the slender Kruidtuin, a sober mansion not far from the Lys River, the Ghent chef invites you in for a soothing meal. The tone is set from the very first bite of sourdough bread: homemade, still warm, with caraway and fennel seeds. What’s next? Baby cabbage grilled on the plancha topped with a soft-boiled egg and mustard leaf; blue ling paired with a divine shrimp sauce, plus salt-cooked celeriac, fermented red cabbage and scallop coral to complete the picture; then picanha escorted by roasted portobello and salsify, plus aniseed mushrooms, fermented garlic and crunchy nuts. We finish as we started, with a sourdough bread, chestnut and pear ice cream. // Romy Van Helden

FEELING THIRSTY? The chairs have been practically designed so that you can access the natural wine list at any time: La Coulée de Proserpine, a Savoyard white from the Domaine Berthollier (€10.50 a glass, €52 a bottle), and Moravia, a Czech Pinot noir from Krásná Hora (€50). Unless you’d prefer a beer, like L’Arogante from Brasserie De Proefbrouwerij (€4 for 330 ml).
PRICE: Menus €39 (lunch) and €69 (dinner).

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The new Le Fooding France Guide is available!

Inside the latest edition, discover our top 400 restaurants, bars, wine cellars, shops and hotels from all over France that’ll be the talk of the town in 2024. Anything else? Our 16-strong list of award winners you’ll not find anywhere else, and nine articles which shine a light on the taste of the times!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Kruidtuin

Restaurant Kruidtuin (Gand)

© Downtown Magazine

  • Date
  • partager

Vous pouvez respirer : Toon Deseyne vient en paix. Dans son longiligne Kruidtuin, une sobre maison de maître non loin de la Lys, le chef gantois invite à une graille apaisée. Le ton est donné dès la première bouchée du pain au levain : fait maison, encore tiède, avec graines de carvi et fenouil. La suite ? Jeunes pousses de chou à la plancha chaperonnées par un œuf mollet et de la feuille de moutarde ; lingue bleue acoquinée à une divine sauce crevettée, avec céleri-rave cuit au sel, chou-rouge fermenté et corail de pétoncles pour compléter le tableau ; ou picanha bien entourée de portobello et salsifis rôtis et petits champis à l’anis, plus ail fermenté et noix à croquer. On termine comme on avait commencé, par une crème glacée de pain au levain, châtaigne et poire. // Romy Van Helden

POUR LA SOIF ? Pratique, les chaises ont été conçues pour avoir accès à tout moment à la carte des vins nat’ : blanc savoyard La Coulée de Proserpine du Domaine Berthollier (10,50 € le verre, 52 € la bouteille), pinot noir tchèque Moravia de Krásná Hora (50 €)… À moins de préférer une bière, comme L’Arogante de la Brasserie De Proefbrouwerij (4 € les 33 cl).

LES PRIX : menus 39 € (midi) et 69 € (soir).

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.