restaurant

L'Horloge du Sud

  • Date
  • share

At L’Horloge du Sud, you know what time it is when you enter, but not so much when you leave – which is often six hours later, after having danced about to zouk while making half a dozen new friends, including a European civil servant and a Gabonese artist. This mecca of diverse crowds and friendly faces is actually a pan-African restaurant, which we owe to Ken Ndiaye as much as to his customers, who come for more than just the moambe. As for us, we ordered: smart jeg-bi, a mango salad mixed with prawns and smoked chicken; cheeky chicken simmering in a peanut sauce, served with plantains; a lighter moqueca bahiana, a fish and prawn stew with coconut milk, baby veg and palm juice, mopped up with fonio (gluten-free West African cereal) or attiéké (cassava couscous); and a banana flambéed with Caribbean rum to finish. // Heloise Bartsoen

FEELING THIRSTY? Very simple cocktails with rather inspired names, such as Matongue Dreams (rum, lime juice, cane sugar, €6.50) or 2e Bureau, the Congolese term given to your mistress or lover (rum, ginger and lemon juice, 6 €.50), as well as a slew of Belgian beers (€2.50 to €7).
PRICE: Starters €6 to €9.50, mains €12-14, sides €2.50 to €3, desserts €5-7.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

L'Horloge du Sud

  • Date
  • partager

L’Horloge du Sud, on sait quand on y entre, plus rarement quand on en sort – souvent six heures plus tard, après avoir zouké et s’être fait une demi-douzaine de nouveaux potes, dont un fonctionnaire européen et un artiste gabonais. Haut-lieu de la teuf métissée et bienveillante, on doit ce resto panafricain à Ken Ndiaye autant qu’à ses client·e·s, pas là pour bouder sur la moambe. Pour nous cette fois-là : pimpant jeg-bi, une salade de mangue méli-mêlée à des gambas et du poulet fumé ; coquin poulet mijotant dans son Jacuzzi de sauce arachide, à accompagner de bananes plantains ; plus légère moqueca bahiana, une cassolette de poiscaille et gambas, avec lait de coco, petits légumes et jus de palme, à éponger avec du fonio (céréale d’Afrique de l’Ouest déglutenisée) ou de l’attiéké (couscous de manioc) ; et une banane flambée au rhum antillais pour finir. // Héloïse Bartsoen

POUR LA SOIF ? Des cocktails tout simples aux noms plutôt inspirés, comme Matongue Dreams (rhum, jus de citron vert, sucre de canne, 6,50 €) ou 2e Bureau, le nom des amantes au Congo (rhum, jus de gingembre et de citron, 6,50 €), mais aussi une flopée de bières belges (2,50 à 7 €).

LES PRIX : entrées 6 à 9,50 €, plats 12-14 €, sides 2,50 à 3 €, desserts 5-7 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie « Belgium Underground » qui explore les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.