restaurant

Certo

Certo restaurant (Brussels)

© Christine Doublet

  • Date
  • share

The most laidback Italian in Brussels? Certo! In this remarkable corner enoteca-trattoria, located in a not-too lively street in Matongé, Rome-native Federico Mazzoni shakes up traditional tastes with well-chosen wines. And there are tons and tons of them on the immaculate shelves, which make up the extremely simple décor (a teeny-tiny cuisine, blond wood tables, doodled details), designed to draw all attention to the colorful labels. Chef Chiara De Stefano’s dishes are more consensual than the boss’s extremist wines: grilled octopus tentacle lounging in sweet potato puree, with slow-cooked tomatoes and large capers buoying everything along; under-cooked tonnarelli (some would say “very al dente”) pampered with cacio e pepe, creamy to perfection and sprinkled with crushed pistachios; before a simple affogato al caffè – espresso over a scoop of vanilla ice cream. // Ringo de Balmalon and Rosa Poulsard

FEELING THIRSTY? Ideal wines for those who like a good farm stay: Tu, a rosato from Cantina Giardino in Campania (€7 a glass), Le Désordre, a Languedoc white from Antony Tortul (€42 a bottle), and Indigeno, a red from the Abruzzese Cantina of the same name (34€).

PRICE: Set menu €22 (lunch), appetizers €14-18, mains €22-24 (€18-20 small portion), desserts €8-10.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The new Le Fooding France Guide is available!

Inside the latest edition, discover our top 400 restaurants, bars, wine cellars, shops and hotels from all over France that’ll be the talk of the town in 2024. Anything else? Our 16-strong list of award winners you’ll not find anywhere else, and nine articles which shine a light on the taste of the times!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Certo

Restaurant Certo (Bruxelles)

© Christine Doublet

  • Date
  • partager

L’Italien le plus défrisant de Bruxelles ? Certo! Dans son énotecante trattoria d’angle, sise dans une ruelle point trop animée de Matongé, Federico Mazzoni, natif de Rome, bouscule les gosiers conventionnels à coups de quilles bien senties. Qui se multiplient sur les étagères immaculées dans un décor sobrissime (cuisine lilliputienne, tables blondes, détails illustrés), comme imaginé pour attirer toute l’attention sur les étiquettes chamarrées. Les assiettes de la cheffe Chiara De Stefano sont plus consensuelles que le patron et ses pifs extrémistes : tentacule de poulpe grillé pataugeant dans une purée de patate douce, avec pour bouées des tomates confites et de gros câpres ; tonnarelli en sous-cuisson (certain·e·s diront « bien al dente ») dorlotées au cacio e pepe, crémeuses à souhait et saupoudrées de pistaches concassées ; avant un simplissime affogato al caffè – glace vanille et espresso. // Ringo de Balmalon et Rosa Poulsard

POUR LA SOIF ?
La cave idéale des amateur·rice·s de séjours à la ferme : rosato Tu de la Cantina Giardino en Campanie (7 € le verre), blanc languedocien Le Désordre par Antony Tortul (42 € la bouteille), rouge Indigeno de la Cantina abruzzaise du même nom (34 €).

LES PRIX :
Formule 22 € (lunch), entrées 14-18 €, plats 22-24 € (18-20 € en small), desserts 8-10 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.