restaurant

Masu

Masu Restaurant (Mons)

© Masu

  • Date
  • share

After cooking up a storm at renowned restaurants in the city of the Doudou (iCook! from Jean-Philippe Watteyne and L’Envers), Maxime Wery and Sullivan Pischetola have put down their chef’s hats a mere stone’s throw from the Grand-Place. The name of their spot? They’ve combined the first two letters of their first names, which in Japanese also means a square wooden box used for measuring rice. These little boxes also feature as salt holders on the tables, in the beamed dining room with banquettes and an ultra-colorful mural by Hell’o Monster. And it’s here where the two chums entertain with their self-proclaimed “modern, worldly” cuisine: incredible homemade sourdough bread spread with truffle-chili butter and adzuki bean hummus; and, that evening, grilled padrón peppers with yuzu, a split pea purée with garlic and ginger, nachos and cheddar coulis; a tasty tamarind beef stew with apple, lemongrass and cilantro; then a rutabaga steak (a tad too salty) with an arugula, mint, and grapefruit salad, plus Masu-spiced fries topped with Parmesan; or even a steamy haddock fillet, sautéed potato and cauliflower with capers (a little too present), sumac and savory fumet; for dessert, almond milk wheat pudding, almond streusel, cinnamon and pear tartare, or a chocolate blondie with cashew nuts and pandan ice cream. // Alain Maes

FEELING THIRSTY? A naturalist library under Rita’s control: Coup de Grisou, a Loire Grolleau gris from La Grange aux Belles (€7 a glass), a Goepp & Fils Riesling (€42 a bottle), Ponzichter, an Austrian red from Weninger (€35), or October, a Roussillon vin de primeur from Les Foulards Rouges (€38)…And craft beers on the suggestion board (Bloody Juice, a sour beer brewed with carrots and pepper, in collaboration with La Source in Brussels, €6.50 330 ml).

PRICE: Set menu €30-32 (lunch), menu €42, à la carte €48.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring « Belgium Underground » exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Masu

Restaurant Masu (Mons)

© Masu

  • Date
  • partager

Après avoir fricoté avec des tables réputées de la cité du Doudou (iCook ! de Jean-Philippe Watteyne ou L’Envers), Maxime Wery et Sullivan Pischetola ont posé leur toque à deux pas de la Grand-Place. Le blaze ? Le début de leurs deux prénoms, qui évoque également cette boîte en bois carrée japonaise qui avait pour fonction de mesurer le riz. Ces boîtes, on les retrouve comme salières sur les tables, dans la salle poutrée, banquette et fresque ultra-colorée d’Hell’o Monster. Où les deux compères régalent de leur cuisine autoproclamée « moderne » et « du monde » : incroyable pain au levain maison, à tartiner d’un beurre truffe-piment et de houmous au haricot rouge ; et, ce soir-là, des padróns grillés au yuzu, purée de pois cassés à l’ail et au gingembre, nachos et coulis de cheddar ; un terrible bœuf mijoté au tamarin, pommes, citronnelle et coriandre ; puis un steak de rutabaga (un chouia trop salé) avec salade de roquette, menthe, pamplemousse et frites aux épices Masu et parmesan ; ou encore un vaporeux filet d’églefin, PDT et chou-fleur rissolés aux câpres (un peu trop présentes), sumac et fumet à la sarriette ; en dessert, blé au lait d’amande, streusel amandes, cannelle et tartare de poire, ou blondie aux chocolats, noix de cajou et glace au pandan. // Alain Maes

POUR LA SOIF ? Une jajathèque naturaliste gérée par Rita : grolleau gris de Loire Coup de Grisou de la Grange aux Belles (7 € le verre), riesling Goepp & Fils (42 € la bouteille), rouge autrichien Ponzichter de Weninger (35 €), primeur du Roussillon Octobre des Foulards Rouges (38 €)… Et des bières artisanales sur le tableau des suggestions (Bloody Juice, sour fermentée à la carotte et au poivre en collab’ avec La Source à Bruxelles, à 6,50 € 33 c).

LES PRIX : formule 30-32 € (lunch), menu 42 €, carte 48 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.