bar

The Modern Alchemist

The Modern Alchemist Bar (Brussels)

© The Modern Alchemist

  • Date
  • share

Who’s at the helm of this industrial bar with bare brick walls, wood and leather features that opened in 2019? Christopher Ducat, Sébastien Bourdain and Benjamin Deniel, who’ve all shaken about the Brussels cocktail scene (Life is Beautiful, Greenlab, Cipiace). They’re the brains behind the sharp and seasonal cocktail menu (€14), prepared with a medicine-cabinet full of homemade syrups and cordials, which they add to their inspired remedies: Bitter Jungle (bitter chinato, Antique rum, green Chartreuse, Citadelle gin, verjus, gentian and passion fruit), or Epicurus (Ferrand Cognac, Isle of Fiji rum, sherry and clementine cordial) – ooof, it packs a punch! Add to that a (generous) portion of chorizo flambéed with rum, gobbled up in seconds (€9) and XXL green olives (€4) to go with a spot-on Pisco Sour. The added bonus? It’s also a first-class shop selling premium rums, whiskeys, liqueurs, and even signature bottled cocktails, like an Old Fashioned Rum or Negroni pimped with (or without) mezcal. // Cléo Popina

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

bar

The Modern Alchemist

Bar The Modern Alchemist (Bruxelles)

© The Modern Alchemist

  • Date
  • partager

Aux commandes ce bar indus, briques à nu, bois et cuir ouvert en 2019 ? Christopher Ducat, Sébastien Bourdain et Benjamin Deniel, qui se sont frottés au bonnes shake machines bruxelloises (Life is Beautiful, Greenlab, Cipiace). Auteurs d’une carte pointue et saisonnière de cocktails sévèrement enrhumés (14 €), ils mêlent sirops et cordiaux maison à leurs inspis : Bitter Jungle (bitter chinato, rhum Antique, Chartreuse verte, gin Citadelle, verjus, gentiane et fruit de la passion), Epicurus (cognac Ferrand, rhum Isle of Fiji, sherry et cordial clémentine)… ça claque ! Une (généreuse) portion de chorizo flambé au rhum, qui se pique et s’avale presto (9 €) et des olives vertes XXL (4 €) accompagnent un Pisco Sour nickel. Le plus : un shop de premier choix – rhums, whiskys, liqueurs, et surtout cocktails signatures en bouteille : Rhum Old Fashioned ou Negroni pimpé au mezcal (ou pas)… // Cléo Popina

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.