restaurant

Midi-minuit plein soleil

  • Date
  • share

It’s been almost a year since the fall of the wall dividing Midi Minuit and the historic printer’s on Place du Peyrou, long-known by Saint-Sernin high school students and law school students alike. You won’t find any more photocopiers, but rather a wine shop that expands Nicolas Grandmaison and Sarah Caniot’s kingdom. Even more tables and wine, therefore, in this big bistro done up with bricks and raw concrete, and lit by lightbulbs hanging from the ceiling of this hip hangar. Seated at the tables, you’ll overhear unpretentious conversations about the fresh, local cuisine, centered around a lunchtime bistro menu sourced partially from their very own garden. The day we went for lunch, there was a creamy butternut squash velouté with hazelnut oil for an indulgent touch; rustic duck hearts sautéed in garlicky parsley butter, with fried potatoes, spicy mayonnaise and an extremely fresh mixed green salad; before a surprising and delicious flan served warm, and therefore a little more wiggly than usual. At night, expect French-style tapas: pan-fried foie gras, black trumpet mushrooms and a whiskey emulsion; vegetable blanquette; wolfish cheeks breaded in panko and served with beetroot ketchup on the side… // A.M.

FEELING THIRSTY? A hundred natural/organic labels to choose from in the attached wine shop, including L’Intrépide, a Saint-Pourçain from the Domaine des Bérioles (€5.90 a glass), Carbo Culte, a Roussillon red from the Cave Apicole (€24 a bottle), or a pet’ nat’ from Montlouis-sur-Loire from Le Rocher des Violettes (€31.50).
PRICE: Set menu €14.80 to €16.80 (lunch), tapas €5-12, big plates €22 (dinner).

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Midi-minuit plein soleil

  • Date
  • partager

Depuis presque un an, un mur est tombé entre le resto Midi Minuit et l’historique imprimerie de la place du Peyrou, connue des lycéens de Saint-Sernin et des étudiants de la fac de droit. Plus de photocopieuses, mais une cave à vin qui agrandit le domaine de Nicolas Grandmaison et Sarah Caniot. Encore plus de tables et de pinards, donc, dans ce désormais grand bistrot de briques et béton bruts, éclairé de bulbes lumineux façon guirlande au plafond de ce hangar branché. À table, ça popote du frais local et sans prétention, avec une formule bistrote du midi, alimentée en partie par leur propre potager. Ce jour-là, un velouté de butternut cremissimo, avec son huile de noisette en guise de gourmandise ; de rustiques cœurs de canard en persillade et frites façon potatoes, mayo relevée et mesclun super frais ; avant un étonnant et savoureux flan pâtissier servi chaud, donc un peu mollasson. Le soir, ça tapasse frenchy : foie gras poêlé, trompettes-de-la-mort et émulsion whisky ; blanquette de légumes ; joue de loup, panko et ketchup de betterave… // A.M.

POUR LA SOIF ? Une centaine de références naturo-bio à piocher dans la cave attenante, dont le saint-pourçain L’Intrépide du Domaine des Bérioles (5,90 € le verre), le roussillonnais rouge Carbo Culte de la Cave Apicole (24 € la bouteille) ou le pét’ nat’ de montlouis-sur-loire du Rocher des Violettes (31,50 €).

LES PRIX : menu 14,80 à 16,80 € (midi), tapas 5-12 €, grandes assiettes 22 € (soir).

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.