restaurant

Nyyó

Nyyó Restaurant (Brussels)

© Justin Paquay

  • Date
  • share

Liège-native Linh Nam, son of Vietnamese refugees, first worked for Google in the Big Apple. Once he’d delivered the goods and his upward social mobility was complete, he settled in the Belgian capital on Rue du Bailli, opening up Nyyó where Habibi once stood. The result? A restaurant that oozes both Vietnamese and New York vibes, in equal measure: limewash walls, hidden alcoves, round wooden tables, wall lights in keeping with the rest. There’s not a thing out of place! But where it does overflow is on the plates, like with the extremely tender okra swaddled in pork belly, served with lemongrass chili oil for dipping, or the sumptuous chicken liver pâté paired with toasted bread from Renard Bakery, plus pickled carrot and daikon for added zhuzh. A traditional eggplant dish gets fried before being glazed with ginger and showered with fresh herbs, and the bánh mì burger (potential infamy!), with its lacquered beef, chicken liver pâté and sriracha aioli, leaves you at a loss for words and blissfully happy! And to finish the meal (quite literally) on cloud nine, there’s the Liège cà phê, a sort of sabayon made with cognac. In short, there’s all the traditional dishes of Vietnamese cuisine, but dismantled and reassembled on the other side of the world! // Héloïse Baertsoen

FEELING THIRSTY? It’s all kicking off in Brussels too, with a well-crafted cocktail menu: Boonies Negroni (€13) made with Campari, Bombay Sapphire gin, banana liqueur and vermouth, or Bushwick Afterparty (€15) mixing Partisan vodka, Jose Cuervo tequila, Cointreau, white rum, pineapple syrup, lemon and ginger beer. Otherwise, opt for a natural wine by the glass (€6-8) or by the bottle, like Pablo, a Loire Chenin from Philippe Delmée (€45).

PRICE: Sharing plates €9-19.

Save this spot in the Fooding app, available on iOS! Download it now in the app store.

The 2nd edition of the Belgium guide is available for pre-order!

Discover the latest selection of the Kingdom’s 350 best addresses (restaurants, bars, cellars, shops and bedrooms), an award’s list celebrating this year’s favorite spots, and a magazine section featuring 16 articles exploring the margins of the food world, its hidden stories and some of its most taboo subjects.

2024 Le Fooding Belgium guide frontcover
Pre-order now!
About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… And after conquering France, Belgium is Le Fooding guide’s latest playground!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Nyyó

Restaurant Nyyó (Bruxelles)

© Justin Paquay

  • Date
  • partager

Le Liégeois Linh Nam, fils de réfugiés vietnamiens, a d’abord bossé pour Google, dans la Grosse Pomme. Une fois le contrat d’ascension sociale rempli, le bonhomme s’est installé dans la capitale, rue du Bailli, où il a planté son Nyyó en lieu et place de Habibi. Résultat ? Un resto très vietnamien et très new-yorkais à la fois : murs poudrés, alcôves à confidences, tables rondes en bois, appliques dans le ton… Rien qui ne dépasse ! Car c’est dans l’assiette que ce resto déborde, comme avec ces fondants okra emmaillotés dans de la poitrine de porc, et saucés d’huile au piment et à la citronnelle, ou ce somptueux pâté de foie de volaille, à tartiner sur du pain de Renard Bakery grillé et à électriser de pickles de carotte et daikon. Les traditionnelles aubergines y sont frites avant d’être glacées au gingembre et blindées d’herbes fraîches, et le bánh mì burger (potentielle infamie), avec son bœuf laqué, son pâté de foie de volaille et son aïoli à la sriracha, laisse pantois de bonheur… Pour finir (littéralement) sur un nuage avec le cà phê liégeois, une sorte de sabayon monté au cognac. Bref, tous les plats tradi de la cuisine viet’, mais démontés et remontés de l’autre côté du monde – ici ! // Héloïse Baertsoen

POUR LA SOIF ? Ça balance pas mal à Bruxelles aussi, à commencer par une carte de cocktails soignés : Boonies Negroni (13 €) à base de Campari, gin Bombay Sapphire, liqueur de banane et vermouth, Bushwick Afterparty (15 €) mixant vodka Partisan, tequila Jose Cuervo, Cointreau, rhum blanc, sirop d’ananas, citron et ginger beer… À moins d’opter pour un vin nat’ au verre (6-8 €) ou à la bouteille, par exemple un chenin ligérien Pablo est au bar signé Philippe Delmée (45 €).

LES PRIX : assiettes à partager 9-19 €.

Enregistrez cette adresse dans l’app du Fooding, disponible sur iOS !

La 2e édition du guide Belgique est disponible en précommande !

Retrouvez les 350 nouvelles meilleures adresses du Royaume (restaurants, bars, caves, commerces, chambres...), un palmarès qui célèbre les coups de cœur de l’année et une partie magazine enrichie de 16 articles qui explorent les marges et les histoires culinaires cachées, voire taboues.

Couverture du guide Belgique 2024.
Je précommande
À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Et après l’Hexagone, la Belgique est le nouveau terrain de jeu du guide Fooding !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.