restaurant

Ola's Café

Ola's Café

© Albert Gredinbar

  • Date
  • share

Ola, who goes there? A very Anglo-sexy café, located in the heart of the Goutte-d’Or neighborhood, a stone’s throw from Lomi. The pitch? A cozy atmosphere that’s a cross between London and Montreal, books to read (in English), a hip-hop playlist, smoking hot mugs of good quality coffee… and some incredible vegetarian cuisine engineered by Fay Lathan and Olatunbosun Ola! The day we went for lunch, that translated into one of the best grilled cheese sandwiches in the capital: country bread from Au Pain d’Antan, aged cheddar, caramelized onions and homemade mayonnaise, all paired with a good sweet potato / squash / butternut soup and then a slice of carrot cake to really round out the meal. Otherwise, noticed on a nearby table: an egg, cheddar and mushroom bun, a potato, cheddar and leek tart, and a proper flapjack with golden syrup, or scones with jam… Sweet, innit? // Albert Gredinbar 

FEELING THIRSTY? A few Mancunian beers from the Alphabet Brewing Company (€5 for 330 ml), orange juice, lemonade and bissap (all three for €3.50 each), along with Ambiciéon coffee, Ethiopian beans for filtered coffee and Honduran beans for the espresso machine (€2 for an espresso). 
PRICE: Set menu €11.50 (grilled cheese + soup), brunch €14. 

Late-night munchies?

Le Fooding’s 2023 Guide is ready to dazzle with its brilliant selection of the year’s latest hotspots, including 500 restaurants, bars, bedrooms, shops and cellars across France; a highly-anticipated award’s list; and ever-more enlightening in-depth articles sprinkled throughout the extravagant, 228-page edition of the yearly magazine, illustrated by the crème de la crème of emerging artists.

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Ola's Café

Ola's Café

© Albert Gredinbar

  • Date
  • partager

Ola, qui va là ? Un café très anglo-sexy, installé au cœur de la Goutte-d’Or, à un lancer de grain de Lomi. Le pitch : une atmosphère cosyssime entre Londres et Montréal, des bookins en libre lecture (en V.O.), une playlist hipopante, des mugs de bon café fumant… et une sacrée cuisine végé manigancée par Fay Latham et Olatunbosun Ola ! Ce qui donnait, ce midi-là, l’un des meilleurs grilled cheese de la capitale : pain de campagne d’Au Pain d’Antan, cheddar vieux, oignons bien caramélisés et petite mayonnaise (les vrai·e·s savent), le tout escorté d’une bonne sousoupe patate douce / courge / butternut et complété d’une part de carrot cake pour plier définitivement le game. Sinon, zieutés sur la table voisine : un bun œuf / cheddar / champis, une tarte PDT / cheddar / poireaux, un véritable flapjack au golden syrup, des scones à la confiote… Sweet, innit ? // Albert Gredinbar

POUR LA SOIF ? Quelques bières mancuniennes estampillées Alphabet Brewing Company (5 € les 33 cl), du jus d’orange, de la citronnade et du bissap (tous trois à 3,50 €), mais aussi du café Ambición, ethiopien pour le filtre, hondurien pour le perco (2 € l’espresso).

LES PRIX : formule 11,50 € (grilled cheese + soupe), brunch 14 €.

Une faim de nuit ?

Le guide Fooding 2023 met ses habits de lumière pour vous déballer un brillant concentré de toutes les nouveautés de l’année : 500 restaurants, bars, chambres, commerces et caves partout en France ; un palmarès très attendu ; et une partie magazine toujours plus éclairante ! Soit, une édition XXLuxe inégalée de 228 pages, illustrée par la crème de la crème des artistes émergent·e·s.

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.